We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food I have had in a long time at a really good price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porgu

Porgu
Ranked #16 of 912 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Eastern European, Central European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Believe it or not, but it’s good to be in „Pórgu“. An unbelievably large selection of draught beers and their bottled cousins, unearthly delicious à la carte dishes and an almost holy atmosphere. All this makes „Pórgu“ seem like a paradise on earth, where you can feel free and let yourself be carried away by tasting pleasure. *pórgu in english - hell
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best food I have had in a long time at a really good price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was very impressed by the food in this place. I had some chicken with mash potatoes and pak choi, which was really tasty. Their homemade bread is to die for too. The beer was very good too (and it was happy hour when I went so i got a really good value overall)
The staff is lovely and the atmosphere is really good . Highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gonetothewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    291
    48
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Revisited Porgu after a positive visit last time we were in Tallinn and I'm pleased to report the standard was as good as before. Excellent food (I had the lamb cutlet whilst my wife had the chicken), very drinkable beer and all with a friendly welcome and a very reasonable price. Really recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank philr1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great beer and food at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Knowledgable bar tender recommended a great local beer. There wine list was short but they had a good Cabernet that went perfectly with my filet mignon, which was AMAZING, especially for the price. A little slow, but the friendly service and local hangout type of atmosphere more than made up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatfoodie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, honest, local food by people who really care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We found Porgu unusual, welcome and a great surprise in Tallinn. Rather than a place for tourists, there seem to be more locals here and a staff that is proud of their food and glad to help you figure out how their very large selection of beers - many local - will pair with what you have chosen. Menu is limited but quality was excellent on all three of our visits. We tried several appetizers as well as duck, pork and fish entrees. Staff gracious and helpful with local info, but not overbearing when you want to be left alone. Beyond all this, it is amazingly inexpensive. Made us very happy on all counts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaPKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great underground beer hall / restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We ate here twice during our short stay in Tallinn, two main courses for lunch the first round. Both mains were well presented and full of flavour, I had the minced lamb cutlet and was left wanting more. Second time round we selected a couple of snacks to go with our beers, of which their is a large selection of both draught and bottled, again the food was a fair sized portion and had great taste. Would definitely recommend coming here if you're in Tallinn however it does get busy on an evening as it isn't the biggest.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porgu also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Porgu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing