We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“there once a month”
Review of Leib Resto ja Aed

Leib Resto ja Aed
Ranked #9 of 942 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leib is run by two professional foodies - a chef and a sommelier. Having our own restaurant is a dream come true for both of us. Leib means black bread in Estonian and we have chosen it to be our name for a reason! Good old local black bread - fresh, warm, simple, and honest - it's what we, Estonians, grow up with and what we dream about when away. It's what we are, really. Good bread is always made with soul. We are passionate about sharing goodies from our homeland. We work with local farmers and fishermen to create delicious yet simple dishes. Since most of our ingredients are local, the menu is always seasonal. Less is more- therefore our menu is compact and constantly changing. Hand-made bread, coupled with foods made from natural, local ingredients is a true gastronomic delight. Leib - soulful casual dining!
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“there once a month”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

one of the best restaurants in Tallinn and I visit this restaurant once a month. great place to go in the summer. make sure you book a table outside. try not to book a table in the basement gets very hot in summer .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hotelstallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    271
    69
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely experience in every aspect, highly recommend!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely all around! Warm and welcoming staff, beautiful and cozy atmosphere, delicious and unpretentious food made with fresh ingredients, all accompanied by fresh out of the oven homemade bread and very fair prices.
We were lucky enough to get a table without a reservation in the evening (it was early), but make sure you book a table in advance as they're usually full.
Go and enjoy, you will have a wonderful time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Tallinn”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the besr rest. In Tallin ever! Servive is excellent, very good english language and the way you are taking care of- wow. Food is perfect and quality very good. We had onion soups, smoked pork and braised beef- superb. Wine remonnondation were perfect. We good wine list. This place was a little bit difficult to find but heaven when you are there ! Staff is young and professional! Love U!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuijaWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The atmosphere of the restaurant was lovely. From the entrance to the cosy little tables, everything has been thought of in detail. I couldn't stop admiring the decor. On a cold winter night, you will feel very welcome here.

Leib has the best service I have accounted in Tallinn. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient. We enjoyed the food, the menu is not too long and they use local ingredients. Unfortunately we had no room for dessert this time.

It's worth strolling outside the main tourist area to find this little gem. Be sure to book a table beforehand, the restaurant was packed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easy-going place with good food”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

In a good way a simple menu (with a vegetarian main dish) using a lot of local ingredients. Helpful and friendly waiters with good food & wine knowledge. All in all relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leib Resto ja Aed also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Leib Resto ja Aed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing