We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteless, but good-looking food”

Rumours Restaurant Lounge and Lifestyle
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Asian, Central European
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Tasteless, but good-looking food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I'm into visiting good restaurants quite often and Rumours is not one of them. At this price there are a lot of much better options in Tallinn (Chedi, Bocca, Alter Ego etc.) But even if the prices would have been lower - that wouldn't make the food better. It looks good, but there is basically no taste. That was actually the 2nd time I had good-looking food made from qualitative components with no taste supporting all that beauty. The first one was in Spain. That's the shame since I really like the interior and the whole atmosphere. There are places in Tallinn (hello Black Taverna and Platz) making some dishes perfectly while making others badly. I personally believe that if a restaurant does something right - it should specialize in this (meat dishes, for example) particular stuff. And if it does something wrong (say "Hello" to your deserts, Platz) - it should not serve such dishes making the whole experience worse and lowering the quality of a restaurant. What I'm trying to say is that Rumours may do something right, but I've tried 3 different entrees, 2 main dishes and 2 deserts there - everything was tasteless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The waiter reccomended Dorado fish - and boy was it good! The sauce was amazing. The vegetables accompanying it was tasty too.
I usually just go around for coffee or drinks but the dinner this time around was great.
The duck was very tasty as well, had a glaze and a very rich taste.

The mashed potatoes however I was almost sure was a "readymix" - the powder you buy in the supermarkets and add water to. so it was a real let down on a plate next to the tasty fish - no good chef would serve up a readymix of mashed potatoes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_traveller_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The waiter reccomended Dorado fish - and boy was it good! The sauce was amazing. The vegetables accompanying it was tasty too.
I usually just go around for coffee or drinks but the dinner this time around was great.
The duck was very tasty as well, had a glaze and a very rich taste.

The mashed potatoes however I was almost sure was a "readymix" - the powder you buy in the supermarkets and add water to. so it was a real let down on a plate next to the tasty fish - no good chef would serve up a readymix of mashed potatoes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_traveller_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb reataurant”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We went to Rumours two of the four nights we were in Tallinn, the place is beautiful and the food is excellent, very well presented and tastes divine, the staff and friendly and polite and they have a great menu and a wide choice of wines. If your in Tallinn give them a try.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank taly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
1 review
“Thanxs!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We accidentally went to this place cause just hear a good music from there - St.Germain) .. it was the right choice!! great atmosphere, service and impeccable taste of risotto with truffles and fine Amarone! We planning to stay there at dinner max. 1 hour, but returned to home at 3 am in a wonderful mood), and agreed to return to Rumours in the morning and have breakfast there.)) is certainly one of the best place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viktorija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Restaurant Lounge and Lifestyle also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing