We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of KGB Museum

KGB Museum
Ranked #22 of 298 things to do in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In Soviet time Hotel Viru was good enough to accommodate foreigners. It also had to be good enough for the KGB ... The museum represents a collection of the stories of two worlds. In one of them, mostly existing on paper, happy Soviet people enjoyed a life of plenty and friendship, led by a single wise political party. The other world – the real one – had a nature much more diverse and complicated.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Small and really not much to it. However our guide made it very worthwhile. What an odd time it must have been. Stop for a beer at the Hardcurrency Bar afterwards.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoBuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    299
    110
    39
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rather strange!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A small museum right on the top floor of Hotel Viru.
Best to per-book to get a guide who speaks your language.
Jana, our guide, was knowledgable and had some great stories to tell.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The guide was great, she had worked in the hotel in the 1980s and she had a lot of interesting stories to tell!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Little Museum”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I loved this museum!! Yes it was small, only a couple of rooms and a view of the city but the stories told by our guide Jana were fantastic. It really gave you a feel of how things were during the Soviet time and the paranoia that people lived with.

You need to book to visit the museum, we booked at the Tourist Information Centre the day before, and there are set times for tours in different languages. The English Language tour we went to was at 11.30am and lasted an hour. When you arrive at the Viru hotel you need to walk through the lobby to the back where there is a small KGB museum desk where you pay, the tour also starts from here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshıre
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is one of the smallest museums I have ever been to, but one of the most interesting. You can not go to Tallinn without visiting this place and hearing the stories. We've all heard tales of the KGB but when you stand in those rooms and hear the stories surrounded by what they left behind in the hotel you can't help but get a real sense of what it was like!! Brilliant!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank faerieoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KGB Museum also viewed

 

Been to KGB Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing