We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the quid”
Review of Neh

Neh
Ranked #146 of 944 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $17 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open for dinner Tuesday - Saturday between 6:00 -10.45Pm. Seasonal closing: 1 June - 18 September Neh is a Nordic restaurant with a soul. A touch of Muhu, our signature of origin. Our cuisine respects terroir and seasons, Inspired by Muhu Island where we come from. We forage and collaborate with our farmers, hunters, fishermen and artisans. Above all we love to cook and treat you to an evening out of simple delicious pleasures. The restaurant's atmosphere airs refined elegance. Understated chic one might say. For a true gastronomic experience book our Chef's Table.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the quid”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Rather small placed close to the harbor, but the restaurant surprised me really. Service was polite but nothing special, but the chefs made my night. Dishes were one of it's kind both visually on the plate and then in the mouth. I recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    49
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little bit different from the norm, superb food, excellent service”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Neh champions the food of the Nordic Islands. The Lonely Planet suggests the restaurant is closed during the summer as the chefs decamp to their island restaurant but this is no longer true. Neh is located quite close to the Port in a tastefully converted building.

We shared the starter described as ‘Made in Muhu’. This contained delicacies from the nearby Island of Muhu including smoked lamb (wonderful), cod cream, fish strips, pickled cucumbers and liver parfait and was served with home made bread. My wife had a main of Saremaa beef and I had lamb rump. Both dishes were superb but the beef in particular should be singled out for praise. Beautifully cooked, thickly cut, tender and extremely tasty – you’ll have to travel a long way to get a better piece of meat than that. We shared an ice cream dessert.

The waitress was very friendly and engaging.

This was our favourite restaurant in the Baltic countries. You can feel the passion that these guys have for their produce and style of cooking and it shone through in the menu and flavours. If you really enjoy good food, this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crans-Montana, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality meals in a nice and cozy environment”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the town restaurant of the absolutely outstanding Pädaste Manor (spa, etc, on the Muhu island). The pike perch was just excellent, the service very efficient and taking-care-of-me, and the desserts interesting and delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 187Nillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent food !”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Probably the best food we had in our stay in Tallinn. Very delicious and tender lamp. Service was OK. Would certainly go here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tobias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Incredibly interesting Nordic Island cuisine”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Neh was more intimate than we expected, with only a few tables inside (although there is also patio seating). It had a rustic, casual atmosphere, but the food could be considered a combination of home-style & gourmet. Our "Made in Muhu" platter held assorted "charcuterie" delights of local ingredients. We also ordered the Wild Boar Stew with Vegetables in a casserole and the Pan Fried Pike-Perch with Cauliflower cream and whey sauce. Next we tried the artisan made cheeses (wonderful smells and tastes) served with breads and homemade jam. Lastly, we shared a red currant compote with burnt spelt crumble (our least favorite taste) and the homemade ice cream. We enjoyed it so much, and left feeling sad that this cuisine won't be available to us at home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neh also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Neh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing