We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for lunch”

Clayhills Gastropub
Ranked #41 of 942 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: European, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Clayhills is the first gastropub in Tallinn, Estonia. Our menu takes inspiration in British, European and local Estonian tradition and we carry a wide selection of local and international beers and wines. The word gastropub comes from the combination of two words "gastronomy" and "pub" and was created in Britain in 1991. Gastropubs are a recent trend that serves high quality food in a relaxed environment. Live music is a strong part of our identity and every weekend after dinner at 22.00 we have live music for your enjoyment. We look forward to seeing you!
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is an excellent place for lunch in Tallinn. We used it twice last week and was more than satisfied both times. The menu includes enough for everyone and we tried 5 different dishes and we were happy with all of them. Good beermenu as well.
The only negative thing to say is that the service is to slow. The waiter took our order very quick, but we had to wait 10 minutes before we got our beer and at least 30 minutes for the food. Not perfect for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denEldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    289
    76
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice interior and food, but extremely slow service even if the place was not packed, plenty of waiters, so I believe there was not enough personel in the kitchen.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angrybird40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dont Eat Here If you Are Hungry”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited after a 2000 mile cycling trip through the Baltic states.The food was great if you are happy to put up with child size portions of food. My husbands fish was miniscule as were my mashed potatoes.Can they get away with this by giving the place a "gastro pub" label? We were still hungry so went to eat somewhere else as well.The beer wasnt particularly good either and the customers packed together like sardines. There are much better places to eat in Tallinn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SherpaMold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks and good music”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

In Tallinn recently with friends and we stopped here for lunch and liked it so much we went back for dinner. The menu had lots of things we all liked and the food was well prepared and tasted great.

Coming back in the evening the cocktails were nice and after dinner they had a trio doing live music which we enjoyed.

Staff are very friendly, all in all a lovely 'gastropub'.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire-Biggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

When the bottled beer wasn't cold enough, I got a cold one on the tap instead. Good French soap and gourmet burger. Good choice!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addantheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clayhills Gastropub also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Clayhills Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing