We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caravan Grill

Caravan Grill
Ranked #485 of 910 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: $8 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have visited Caravan three times now and every time had enjoyed authentic Armenian and Georgian cuisine - the lavash, khorovats, kharcho, matnakash, sujhukh are all excellent just to name a few. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yerevantsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended place for a real party feeling”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

if you would like to have a real party with caucasian food, wine, music, very nice interior as if you are in a summer garden at your closes friend or family member somewhere in the mountains of Caucases, then I would definitely recomment CARAVAN - for an unforgettable experience!

Be positive yourself and order only caucasian food, served in caucasian style!!! grilled meat or veges are grilled well and are soft after first been marinated... hot fresh bread Khachapuri MMMM! IS THE MUST! Lamm was perfect - soft and mild !!!

So I liked shashlik, khachapuri, dry red housewine, assorti of cheses with herbs, even chakhokhbili. Portions are normal and the servant helps you choose the amount of food depending on the number of the clients.

I just want to return back there!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanticTraveller168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three hours to receive main course”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Some time ago a group of 20+ travelers enters Caravan in intention to wine & dine well. We made a reservation well in advance, so they knew we were coming. One big table was already made ready for us. The sole waiter seemed desperate.

We started normally, but nothing seemed to happen. We were the only customers at that time.
The waiter takes orders in a very old-fashioned way. He serves drinks quite a long time later. No food. Then some other people start to arrive. They receive their orders very quickly, we still have nothing.

Then, two hours after we arrived we start to recieve entrees. The waiter seems to work very hard.

Main courses arrive three hours after we sat down for the first time. Three hours. Seen slow service before but this is a record. We were already quite hungry upon arrival, of course.

On the bright side, the food was very good. Everyone seemed to be happy with the quality but sure it took time!

If the time to wait is reasonable, then this place might be ok. But how do you know?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ike-shibuya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyväskyla
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“"We really like it"”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Lovely live music and dancing .Food was fantastic taking into account the low prices.We visited there every nights on our 4 days holiday

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hardys457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found the food to be mediocre at best. Not even close to other Georgian restaurants. But the service was terrible. The waiter took our Georgian Pie to another table and served it onto their plates. After five minutes, and a few bites, they realized they had not ordered it and had the waiter take it back. He took it to the service counter, waited a few more minutes then served it to us. We will never go there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravan Grill also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Caravan Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing