We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great apartment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
OldHouse Apartments
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
The Haque
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great apartment!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We had a lovely apartment at the Vene in a very old building. Great location, in the middle of old town. We arrived late in the evening, but this was no problem, because we could check in at the hostel, which is open 24/7. So great service. Only negative point I could mention, is that my room was situated at street level and it can get a bit noisy outside on weekends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    95
    21
    6
    11
See reviews for
88
85
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I could not recommend these apartments higher. If you are thinking about booking a short stay in Talinn, make a reservation here - if your stay was anything like ours, you will fall in love with the place. It was so refreshing to really feel like you were getting value for money for a change!!

The apartments are situated smack bang in the middle of beautiful Old Town, so all the attractions are literally seconds away.

Our apartment was MASSIVE with beautiful modern decoration with a log burning stove in the living room, and a view out the window across the characteristic red tile roofs to the well in the cobbled street below. The bedroom was spacious and very stylishly furnished with a comfortable big double bed and loads of space around it. Once again, a lovely view to the street below. To top it all off, there was a sauna in the wetroom style shower area!! The place was absoulutely immaculate. It just felt like home from home.

Oldhouse is also situated a matter of a few seconds walk from great places to eat and tremendous pubs. We would recommend Kompressor (which is on the same street as oldhouse) for a HUGE pancake stuffed with an array of different delicious fillings and delicious coffee for less than 5Euro each....

We were gutted to leave our beautiful apartment at the end of our stay. I just hope that it is not too long before come back!

Tnank you, Oldhouse for helping make our stay in Talinn so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We visited this apartments, Vene L, for two nights as a family of four, our room we had was huge with a king size bed and a double bed in the second room for the kids. The wet room was very modern with underfloor heating. The apartment was lovely and warm and although one morning we woke to no heat or hot water the staff came and sorted it within half an hour. The reception staff did anything they could to help, they walked us to our apartment and even carried a bag, be warned that it is quite a trek especially when you have a 20kg bag with no wheels to carry. My only criticism would be that there was no telephone in the room, when we woke to no heat, with -8 outside, we were lucky to have a computer with us to Skype them, otherwise without a mobile phone it would have been a walk to reception. Would definitely stay again and old town Tallinn is one of the most beautiful places we have been and open air ice skating is a must

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived to Tallinn on a cold early evening and upon arrival received mulled wine (on the house). After that we got free wine! Wooo! I was liking the place already. We were a group of 8 (4 of us in one apartment, 4 in the other) and were split up into 2 apartments about 5 minutes away from eachother, but it wasn't a problem.

Our apartment was just a few steps away from the reception building. It had free Wifi, two bedrooms a sauna and slippers! It was spacious, warm and in a great location. We stayed for two nights and then checked out because we were going to Riga for an evening.

When we came back to Tallinn, we were given a new apartment; this time, one in the same building that our other four friends had been in. It was at the VERY TOP of the building - so not recommended if you are not able to carry your luggage up many steep steps. This second apartment was not as nice as the first one. First, it was freezing (despite all the heaters on high), it didn't have slippers (not a big deal), didnt' have a real shower (came with a squeegie so you could get the water from the floor into the drain), it smelled like sewer (though to be fair, this is typical of places in Tallinn I've found) and the WiFi was not working for us. It was still spacious and nice and fine for one night, but the first apartment was wayyy nicer.

Overall, we had a nice time staying here. Definitely it's affordable and the receptionists were BEYOND AWESOME - THANKS LADIES!!!!!!! I would love to return to stay here if ever in Tallinn again and recommend it to everyone and anyone looking to stay somewhere in the Old Town when visiting Tallinn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building NOT opposite the church/near the hostel. They are cold and the WiFi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excentrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

OldHouse has a number of apartments spread around the old town, ours is located at the furthest end of Pikk Street, one of Tallinn's best known attractions. Despite its central location it is very quiet and peaceful on the top floor and the rear of the building, with excellent views across the old city and the port.

The apartment is attractively and distinctively furnished. It is well equipped, with a modern nordic feel - a pleasant change to the clinical, minimalist feel of many rentals. In the depths of the Estonian winter it was very warm, with a very smart wood-burning stove, multiple lighting options, and a wonderful bed for a romantic stay. The many windows and two balconies gave great views over the city rooftops by night and day. It was impeccably clean and well-maintained.

My slight criticism is the lack of a 'welcome pack' of essential supplies, except tea and coffee, as there are few general stores in the old town, particularly if you arrive late as we did. Being an attic apartment, some of the ceilings and door frames are low and you need to watch your head. But to me that just added to the quirky character of this lovely apartment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

On arrival the receptionists greeted us with estonian warm drinks, we had to wait an hour for our room but they gave us a detail map of where we could go to explore. When we came back our apartment was a 5 minute walk from the main reception but the receptionist showed us the whole way there which was lovely. We have the Vene N room with the room dowstairs and it was gorgeous! Very pleased with the apartment! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate_wood_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had an apartment with three bedrooms in Vene 23 in the old town. It was large, tidy and nice, beautiful furniture, a fireplace and there were even champagne and wine glasses. Should get back when the weather is suitable for using the terrace.

Room Tip: Room 9 at Vene 23 was great for 6 persons willing to sleep in double beds: fireplace, terrace, large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 82 in Tallinn
838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OldHouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OldHouse Apartments

Property: OldHouse Apartments
Address: Rataskaevu 16, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — OldHouse Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"OldHouse Apartments“ provides serviced guest apartments for short-term rent in the heart of Tallinn Old Town. We have a wide selection of 29 individually designed standard and luxury apartments, all located in the Medieval Old Town with saunas, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, balconies and views to Town Hall Square. All the "OldHouse Apartments“ are covered with free Wi-Fi internet. Our apartments are a great alternative to a hotel, offering you more privacy, independence and space. Extras: Free parking and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your OldHouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing