We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
192
272
139
53
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
192
272
139
53
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lai street old town first floor stone walls excellent location single room nice hotel town square rooms are small highly recommend this hotel the main square tea and coffee central location breakfast was excellent yogurt sink loft
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 703 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

We would give a shout out to Natalia who had loads of suggestions on eating and drinking. The hotel is old but full of character. That's exactly what we were looking for on our trip. You can stay at a Holiday Inn anywhere in the world and feel as if you haven't ever left home. This was not that and we are all the happier for that experience. Mom didn't like the stairs so much but we would definitely stay here again if we are ever in Tallinn again. Book here if you are looking for a bit of old world charm.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

This hotel is in a great location very near to old town's open market place. We had great service. It's quite labyrinthine and the corridors are narrow, lot of steps...Not for the bad feet. We had our room on the street level so that was easy access. The air conditioning was pretty much nonexistent. Breakfast was good, but the the space to eat was very, very small.
I'd still go again.

Room tip: Great room in street level is number 107.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Intia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017 via mobile

Signage poor so we struggled to find Reception unon arrival. There was a long queue and our room was not ready when we were eventually seen but was not a major problem as we went for a walk. Light and extractor fan in bathroom not working. Bathroom had not been cleaned properly from previous guests. We overlooked the courtyard which was noisy late evening and early morning. Room service was inadequate, toilet rolls, shower gel, shampoo, tea/coffee etc not refilled. We had to ask for items at Reception. The cups were left dirty so we washed ourselves - this was not a major problem, we do it at home! Bed only straightened and sheets came away from the very thin mattress at night. It was more like a mattress topper not a mattress, very uncomfortable and kept moving off the base! Very bad nights sleep every night. Breakfast was the usual offerings but everything kept running out. Some staff used their hand to replenish cheese/cold meats/mini pancakes etc. instead of utensils. Coffee machine was a joke with long queues and continuously running out of coffee! You couldn't get to the tea bags or hot breakfast easily because of the queue for coffee. Tables left uncleared for long periods so guests had to clear/pile up dishes etc to sit at a table. Staff did not talk to guests. We would not stay again unless changes were made to rooms/beds/breakfast & room service. On a positive note, this hotel is centrally placed. Reception staff were friendly

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank peacefullife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

We stayed in the Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel when we visited Tallinn recently, we arrived on the Monday early and was told our room wasn't ready, this was fair enough we knew we were early so we asked if it was ok to leave our bags and go sightseeing, the lady on the desk said this was fine so off we headed to see the sights of Tallinn.
We returned to our hotel after 5pm and collected our bags and went to our room, the room was ok not the largest but at the end of the day it was somewhere to stay and sleep, a base.
The only thing my partner said she didn't think the toilet had been cleaned as the fluid in the pan was coloured we wasn't sure if this was a cleaning chemical used so being fair we flushed the toilet and thought we would see if the next day it was the same.
The following morning we had a coffee / tea then headed down for breakfast, this is served in a room downstairs and also in the cafe area, we walked in and found a seat, no one asked for a room number so we got something to eat and drink.
The food is good, plenty of choice, hot food like bacon, sausages, egg and plenty of cold meats, cheese and cereal.
The main problem with the breakfast area is it gets very busy at certain times, staff are bringing in food from the kitchen out in the cafe area, and also taking plates etc to the washing up room which is a separate room again.
The coffee machine gets very busy and the tea is made using hot water from a flask, if you want milk its on the main table if you are lucky as its also the milk for the cereals.
After breakfast we headed off sightseeing for the day, when we returned we found the room had been cleaned but the tea / coffee had not been replenished and the cups had not been cleaned or replaced, also the toilet was clear which meant the day before it hadn't been cleaned.
As said our room was small, one side of the bed was against the wall so i either had to get in first or climb over my partner or climb up from the bottom of the bed, ok for youngsters but not good if you are getting on in years.
I also found the mattress was too soft for me, the first and second night wasn't too bad as i suppose i was tired but the third night i woke with a bad back and on th forth night i ended up sleeping on the floor during the night as my back was hurting to much, I prefer a much harder bed.
Breakfast the next morning was just as hectic, we found a table which hadn't been cleaned so we moved the dirty plates and cups to one side and sat down, the dirty plates stayed there the whole time we were sat eating, no one came to clear the dirty dishes.
Again we finished up and headed out for the sights, when we returned to our room it had been cleaned but the toilet paper hadn't been replenished and only a small amount was left on the roll, also the shower creams and washes were also almost empty and hadn't been replaced.
The following morning yes we ran out of toilet paper and I had to go and ask for it to be replaced before the mornings business could begin.
Today we were going out early so we were in for breakfast early, this was better but some of the food wasn't out, the milk for the tea was missing and again it all just lacked that little bit of planning and co-ordination.
The room was clean when we returned and everything seemd to have been done.
The last night as said I found the bed far too soft, my partner also complained of a bad back and sh also said during the nigh her matress moved around too much, the matress itself isn't that thick its only like a topper, maybe had we asked this could have been changed for a harder matress?
We again had an early Breakfast on the last day as we had an early flight, this was ok less hectic as it was early.
The staff were friendly on the reception desk, the brakfast staff were much too busy to really get to know, however i would say when serving food up i did see one using hands instead of the serving tools this seemed to be out of frustration as it was very busy but not very hygenic.
Our room looked out over the hotel terrace which is normaly ok, however around 7-730 every morning you can hear the deliveries andpeople moving trolleys about which can be very loud and noisy, especialy if you have the windows open as we did.
Another point is the signage to the reception is not very good, on the day we arrived we found the hotel on Pikk but couldn't find the reception as you have to go through the cafe and out into the court yard, its much easier to acess from the other road and easier to find.
I'm sure the hotel is really popular as its nicely located in the old town, other rooms may be larger and prehaps we had new cleaner. The breakfast area just needs a bit of organising and I'm sure it would be very good.
Overall would I stay again, yes i think so perhaps in a different room as said the hotel is only ever a place to sleep and eat breakfast.

Room tip: Room over looking court yard can be noisy in the mornings
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Location is excellent, right in the old town. Hard to find though. Bed was horrible, back pain guaranteed and air was so bad in the room, you will spend the night sweating. Breakfast was in a small and crowded room and not much there. Coffee was good, if you're willing to stay in line 10 to 20 minutes.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank givepinkachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews