We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in historic ambiance”
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Ranked #127 of 955 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Classic Italian trattoria offers a cross section of the best Italian kitchen. Menu for the retaurant has created by a lot of acclaimed chef de Nicolo Bocca TandaHowever La Bottega's handwriting are clearly different – its offers a modern home Italian cuisine.Voted by 50 Best Restaurants in Estonia:• 3th place in year 2010 and 2011
Hoorn
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food in historic ambiance”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Business dinner in Tallinn. Decent winelist and good Food. Liked the wild boar. Service is good and in the background. Ambiance is Nice and laid back. Good Value for money compared to other European capitals.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    101
    43
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great foor, excellent value”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Really nice place with excellent food (especially the prawn tails as appetizers) and wild boar for main cours

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finnish world traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very nice evening”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a fantastic evening with great food, wine and service. Don't go if you are in a hurry , since the pace is very relaxed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katr565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Decent dinner with Italian flavors”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

In La Bottega is served two of my favourites, wild boar and rosemary potatoes and this time in Tallinn I was prepared to have a prolonged dinner. I had the impression that sometimes it can take time to finish dinner in this restaurant. In the early Saturday evening there was not many customers so after a short delay I was properly attended and everything run well. I had table reservation, but the male waiter was not very welcoming in the begin. Luckily I was later attended by Liisa who apologized for the delay in ordering the food and drinks and after this short delay everything went smoothly. I had wild boar entrecôte, rosemary potato wedges and rucola tomato salad. I was also offered one slice of bread.

The aroma from the nearby table as well my dinner plate was very delicious. The combination of rucola and wild boar was exellent, but the meat was slightly dissapointment because it was not so tender as I expected. I believe the stewed wild boar with roasted potato would be nicer, but I wanted the rosemary potatoes. I had tried their bruschetta earlier this summer: it was not the traditional bread with tomato and basil, they have an Estonian twist in this dish.

For the dessert I chose Sabayone with fresh fruit and for my suprise whole dish was warm, but it actually suited the damp November weather. It left a good taste in my mouth in the end of the meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The food is authentic and good, but the overall experience was nothing special. The service was quite cold and uninterested. Overall, I think there are better places in Tallinn with warmer atmosphere to enjoy Italian food at.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomaad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing