We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of La Bottega

La Bottega
Ranked #128 of 942 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Classic Italian trattoria offers a cross section of the best Italian kitchen. Menu for the retaurant has created by a lot of acclaimed chef de Nicolo Bocca TandaHowever La Bottega's handwriting are clearly different – its offers a modern home Italian cuisine.Voted by 50 Best Restaurants in Estonia:• 3th place in year 2010 and 2011
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food was great, the wine good and the service was excellent! We had to wait a while, because they were understaffed due to bad weather conditions, but received a complimentary wine for the wait and the staff was very attentive throughout the night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    98
    43
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Simple and good Italian food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

La Bottega offers a nice selection of Italian food at relatively reasonable prices (at least when compared to the upmarket restaurants in Tallinn).

Casual family restaurant catering to all kinds of patrons. The backroom might be a bit noisy if there's a large group, so be aware. While the place isn't cheap, the value for money is fairly good, at least when compared to the Italian restaurant next to La Bottega.

The desserts aren't their strong suit, so better stick to espresso and limoncello. All in all, a decent place for having a dinner or lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guest_user42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent food and wine experience!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Excellent Italian food with a local touch. I have traveled a lot in Italy and this restaurant still goes in to my top 3 rastaurants! Atmosphere on Saturday night was pleasant and you should definitely book advance, there were no room for walk-ins. Menu is very wide and there's definitely something for everyone. I recommend especially foods with wild boar, it was incredibly good! Also the prices are suitable, rather low actually considering the great quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food at fair prices”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Enjoyed both the ambiance (not conversation challenged) and our fish, salad, pasta and wine. We almost missed it, however, because it lacks good signage and is hidden behind a heavy wooden door. Would go again. In the Old Town.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank photoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Never going back”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very unwelcomed from the start - as we think for the reason that we spoke russian but maybe the stuff there behave like this with everybody... So it started with the waiter proudly answering "No!" to our question if he speaks Russian (strange for the people who work in Old Town of the city where 60% of population is russian and most of the tourists are russians too), we put our clothes on one of the chairs by the table cause unlike other clients - we were never escorted to the hangers, waiters were never by the table, we had to ask two waiters the same thing to get it, our sparkling wine went to a cooler just before the last glasss, we asked to heat the dishes two times, we were never asked if we like the food, waited for everything for ages - sometimes waiters looked away when they saw us waving. Well - it would be all just fine, it's not the only place in Tallinn with service like this, if the food were good. But it's not - it's not of a high quality actually, not what you would expect from a place like this. Simple and overprized. Will never go back and will recommend to stay away - better go 30 meters down the street to a "Dominic" restaurant - that's where we got service and food that we will recommend and where we will take our friends to.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bottega also viewed

 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to La Bottega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing