We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Asian restaurant in Old Town”
Review of Chedi

Chedi
Ranked #64 of 1,252 Restaurants in Tallinn
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A warm and cosy contemporary Asian-style decor: high vaulted ceiling, large windows,decoratively revealed fragments of brickwork, laconic dark wood tables (the larger ones,of course, equipped with a revolving central part) sans tablecloths, a stylised stupa andsakura branches on one side of the room. Authentic chairs (imported from China),impressive Zen-style loos built in antique medieval vaults. The central niche with its twored and gold-painted trees is reminiscent of the splendid landscapes in Hero, the fi lm bythe Chinese director Zhang Yimou. Voted by 50 Best Restaurants in Estonia:BEST RESTAURANT IN TALLINN year 2011• 4th place in year 2010
Reviewed April 2, 2019

Usually Asian restaurants are cheap take away places and many times restaurants in Old Town serve low quality with high prices. So we were really surprised to find this place, because they serve high quality, almost fine dining level food in beautiful enviroment. Prices are quite high, but portions are big and beautiful and what's most important, food was absolutely delicious. Service was multi lingual, professional and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 362 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

A very prestigious and highly appraised restaurant in the Old Town, Chedi has a lot to live up to. As I have understood, sometimes they succeed and sometimes they don’t. I suppose the latter is the cause for some of those negative comments here. But when they succeed, boy what a success it is. The food here can be truly amazing, like a proper gourmet experience where each part of it is a surprise, a true delight. Of course, expectations are high, especially as it’s rather on a pricy side, but like I said, there are no complaints or qualms if they manage to get it just right. You get your money’s worth.
Service was friendly, efficient and professional, they gave good recommendations for wine and sorted everything quickly, even though it was a busy night. I wouldn’t hesitate to go back anytime.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Applefee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

Some dishes were good other not !

Used to be a very good restaurant, maybe they are over the top ?

Crispy wasabi prawns with walnuts, was really good

Stir-fry black pepper rib-eye beef with Merlot, was good

Grilled salmon in chef’s special sauce, was overcooked, DRY and no sauce - dry rice,
the waiters response was: Im sorry !

Will I come back - not likely ! Do they care - Dont think so, when I think of the answer to my complain.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank michaelstrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019 via mobile

Having enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Chedi with my husband during our recent business trip to Tallinn, Estonia, now comes the Good and Bad points on Chedi, below;

GOOD POINTS:

1. Excellent cooking of Dim sum dishes and steamed Vegetarian Mushroom Dumplings (which suited Hubby who is a vegetarian) and as a Chinese, l know that the shrimp dumplings are the best in Europe. They are both very delicious and well presented.

2. Beautiful decorations and antique furniture are specially designed in a traditional Chinese way.

3. Friendly staff, especially Merica and the Sous Chef, a Malaysian Chinese, whom we were honoured to meet in person.

BAD POINTS:

1. A bit remote from the city centre and most 5 star hotels like Hilton, Swissotel, etc.

2. With Chedi being located at a place called Old Town, Tallinn, where public traffic is not allowed, Taxis can take you to the door of Chedi, but you may have about a 100 metre walk to a nearby taxi rank afterwards.

Advice: Definitely a great place to dine.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank missatang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019 via mobile

Asian fusion kitchen didn't fail. We had different dishes and they were delicious.. Prawns, pork, tuna, crab and chocolate halva cake.. Remember this place from 1,5 years ago and still made a good impression.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank tinkiebellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chedi also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Chedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing