We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent asian restaurant sadly no sake”
Review of Chedi

Chedi
Ranked #71 of 970 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A warm and cosy contemporary Asian-style decor: high vaulted ceiling, large windows,decoratively revealed fragments of brickwork, laconic dark wood tables (the larger ones,of course, equipped with a revolving central part) sans tablecloths, a stylised stupa andsakura branches on one side of the room. Authentic chairs (imported from China),impressive Zen-style loos built in antique medieval vaults. The central niche with its twored and gold-painted trees is reminiscent of the splendid landscapes in Hero, the fi lm bythe Chinese director Zhang Yimou. Voted by 50 Best Restaurants in Estonia:BEST RESTAURANT IN TALLINN year 2011• 4th place in year 2010
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“excellent asian restaurant sadly no sake”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

as polished as you would expect from a restaurant set up by alan yau , he put in the original chef who is still there we were told . food really is some of the best in tallinn and no other asian restaurant in the city i have tried comes close .
spicy prawns , duck salad and roast chicken were the stand out dishes for me .
service is excellent from the very friendly staff , tasteful decor and a sunny outside deck in the summer .
they have a very good wine list but genuinely really surprised though dont have at least a few sakes on the list .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaneyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    101
    38
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
“Anu”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent service and very delicious food. Nice and restful interior and beautiful and objective waitresses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good in interior, food, price ...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First of all its location of the restaurant is good.
Chedi locates in a heart of Old CIty of Tallinn and you can easily find a parking place near.
We ordered Pi Pa Duck, which was veeeery delicious, duck came with rise, which was also good with soy sauce! Portion was good for me, maybe because I don't eat too much ))) whatever .. I think sometimes we should eat not to get full, but to enjoy the process itself!

I would recommend that restaurant to all gourmands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good Asian fusion”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Chedi is a very hip and stylish restaurant with an interesting modern meets Asian meets Scandinavian theme. The food dishes are fairly elaborate, with both good ingredients as well as presentation. The staff were friendly, even though our group was a little bit noisy from a long day in the office. The flavours are good, and the meals are enjoyable. It is a little bit on the pricey side, especially for Estonia, so it is not the sort of place that you would go to for regular meals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Having eaten here twice I can truly recommend this restaurant if you enjoy contemporary Asian food. Be sure to try Roast Duck. Great atmosphere and a convenient location too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HKItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chedi also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Chedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing