We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Estonian food at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant MEKK

Restaurant MEKK
Ranked #72 of 902 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Estonian food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

There were two things that stood out in MEKK when I visited this restaurant: the food was exceptionally good and the service was superb (best service in Tallinn, I dare say). The atmosphere is warm and quiet, since it is a relatively small place. Personally, I found the prices a bit too high compared to the other places in Tallinn, but you definitely get what you're paying for. Will definitely return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomaad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Nomaad,

Thank you for your kind words!

It is great to see that an Estonian finds our venue, service and food so fulfilling. We are certainly looking forward to have you back here anytime!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    76
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Expectations were a little bit higher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Quite nice looking restaurant but no wonder why the place was so empty. The food was only average. Wines were OK and the service was good though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikkohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Mikko,

Thank you for your opinion!

I am sorry that you did not find our view of Estonian cuisine fitting for your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, though,

Best regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“MEKK SCHMECK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely dinner at MEKK, a party of three ate well for just EUR 120. Good deal. We had a nice table, comfortable seating, nice ambiance. Professional and attentive staff, menu full with choices with an Estonian touch and origine. All well prepared, we left the restaurant with a good feeling. Will come back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear kaaskop,

Thank you for your enthusiastic feedback!

It is always a good time to read these kinds of comments - the every day working quality actually depends on these little moments, I believe.

Thank you again for that!

Sincerely,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co londonderry
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Try it for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good service. Good value lunch special would recommend the special price menu not so sure if id pay more. Nice and clean and quick service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments!

I am sure this will be of help for people trying to find modern Estonian cuisine from the centre of Tallinn!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Victorious third visit to Mekk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited Mekk the third time last week. Firstly I need to mention that my first visit was good, secon very bad (I wrote a review here), but the third one now was very pleasant. Everything was fresh and tasty and the service very kind and supportive. Now I recommend others to visit this place again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear brimj,

Thank you for your post!

I remember your last post where you were not a 100% happy with your experience and I am very glad to see that you gave us another shot to make this up to you.

As always - you are welcome to return any time!

Best wishes,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant MEKK also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant MEKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing