We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Restaurant MEKK

Restaurant MEKK
Ranked #73 of 929 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Scandinavian, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Modern Estonian cuisine at MEKK. We called in for lunch as the Lonely Planet guide recommended the excellent value lunch time mains. We were surprised how quiet the restaurant was. The reason became clear when we discovered that MEKK no longer offers a discounted lunch menu! Perhaps it proved to be too popular. During our meal, a couple came in and left quickly and another only ordered starters so we suspect they were expecting the same as us! Cost wise, MEKK is on the higher side with mains over 20 euros. We had starters of rabbit soup and pork belly; mains of pork belly and pikeperch (zander). The food was very nicely presented and extremely tasty.

MEKK is a gourmet restaurant to be savoured. Highly recommended for a lingering lunch or romantic dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Rene Uusmees at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Norcs,

Thank you for your comments!

Firstly, I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience here overall!

And secondly, about the lunch menu: you are correct, we did not have the lunch menu available in the summer for couple of reasons. It is initially meant for a quicker business lunch and for the summer season we try to come up with different varieties.

As of September, though, we have the lunch specials available again!

I am looking forward to have you here again to try the newly upgraded lunch menu!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    77
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
188 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nouvelle Estonian”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very classy indeed. If you're used to huge helping of pork knuckle as Estonian food, Mekk will come as a surprise. This a very up market home of fine dining, and very fine it was too! I had perfect, delicious, soft and velvety venison with celeriac mash, and loved every bit of it. It's great to find you can eat so well in Tallinn!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you very much!

I am humbled to see you so pleased with Estonian food!
Your comment reveals exactly what we are thriving for in MEKK - the surprises of what Estonian food culture really holds within.

I cannot wait to have you here again and discuss this in person.

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
627 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks, wine”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Ate outside on a pretty terrace and had a great lunch. Terrific mixed drinks and their house wines are superb. Goat cheese salad with beetroot was fantastic and their pikfefish croquettes with crayfish and mashed potatoes was delicious. This was a wonderful place for an excellent, relaxed, outdoor lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the kind post!

I am sure this will help others to find a great place to relax and enjoy good foo, too.
MEKK is looking forward to have you here again!

Greetings,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapla County, Estonia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Real Modern Estonian Cusine :)”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Here again months later and it's still absolutely perfect :)

It's not a place for huge portions it's a place for perfect food, remarkable taste experience and sweet knowledgable staff.

Management people... If you're reading this... PLEASE offer põltsamaa lossvein 28 :) it's the best Estonian white dinner wine I've had and as this is a "estonian kitchen" it simply must be on the wine list :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cpucc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Cpucci,

Thank you very much for your kind words!

It is very rewarding to see you post another pleasant feedback here. I cannot wait to have you here again to show you our gratitude with yet another great experience!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good estonian food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

i went here for a light dinner as we were staying in the hotel. we decided the bar menu looked nice. we both choose the light main coarse. which was lovely. i had the pike cutlets which was lovely and my wife had the dumplings. it was good but it wasnt the best meal i have ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliceband1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TallinnHotels, Head chef at Restaurant MEKK, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear aliceband,

Thank you for joining our Tripadvisor commentary!

I am happy that you and your wife enjoyed the meals and hopefully the next time we can deliver the on that will be the best you have ever had!

Kind regards,
Rene Uusmees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant MEKK also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Restaurant MEKK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing