We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall:Ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We reserved the Zen doubleroom. Our room was located at the third floor, ask for a room facing the backyard. The street outside is quite busy all through the night! The room was nice and the bathtub was lovely! Its really Nothing that's bad with the hotel, it's only little things that makes it average. OK bed, not great. OK breakfast, OK location. It's about 7-10 min walk from the oldtown.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellinoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
There are newer reviews for von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 641 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good hotel with reasonable fares, just few minutes away from the crowded Old Town.
Modern rooms: mine was right on Paldiski Maantee, but the window seems to be a good barrier against the noisy traffic of the road!
The staff is very friendly.
I had to leave at 5.00 AM and I was positively surprised to finding a take-away breakfast they put aside for me (as far as my worldwide experience, only very few hotels were so kind to do that…)
Positive feedback!
Marco

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Marco196225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although the hotel is on a quite busy intersection, we had a room overlooking the courtyard, so were not bothered by road noise. On our arrival, it took the staff five minutes to convert our room from a double to a twin and for the whole of our stay, the staff were very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was excellent, with a very wide choice available. It is only a five minute uphill stroll to Toompea and another five minutes downhill to the Old Town square, so the location is pretty near ideal. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Prudence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my boyfriend had a really great stay at von Stackelberg Hotel. The greatness was due mainly to the factthat the staff was so nice and helpful and that the room was cosy and clean. It was also located within walking distance from the attractions in old town such as pubs, restaurants, museums and churches.

We booked a SPA treatment at the hotel which was a really nice expereince with professional SPA staff and a nice and calm environment.

It was also a good breakfast with lots of alternatives, both healty and little less healty food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I couldn't fault this hotel at all. We stayed in a Zen Suite which was situated accross a beautiful courtyard away from the hotel. Our suite was very spacious with seating area desk and computer and the bathroom was equiped with a jacuzzi bath with all the toiletries you would need for your stay. We even had chocolates left on our bed placed on a litte poem which was a nice touch for us girls! We ate here in the evening on a couple of occasions and we thought the food was outstanding. As the weather was good we chose to eat in the courtyard which was lit up at night with lanterns and fairy lights. Breakfast was served in the cellar which was tastefully decorated and once again the choice of food covered all tastes. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so wonderful. Caron & Tony.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaronCronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would love to be able to give the von Stackelberg 5 stars, because the staff were so helpful and overall it was great. But, as I will explain below, the wifi problems mean I can't. Let me say first that I don't understand why hoteliers advertise things they can't actually deliver on -- it only damages their reputation.

The von Stackelberg is the former city residence of Baron von Stackelberg, and it has been converted into a modern hotel. A colleague and I met in Tallinn for work and to have a bit of a break. We had basic rooms, and we asked for the courtyard side of the hotel. We got rooms on the 3rd floor with skylights but no view. That was fine, and it was quiet. The hotel is very very close to 2 busy roads, so I do believe the reviews that warn against rooms overlooking the road if you need quiet. The rooms were comfortable. I particularly appreciated the fact that there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, as well as a small room safe for valuables.

The staff was very helpful throughout our stay. They helped us with directions, ordering taxis and so on, and all of them spoke excellent English. The breakfast buffet was extensive, including fish, meat, eggs, pastries, fruit, cheese -- everything you could want. It set us up for the day.

However, the wifi situation was not so ideal. The von Stackelberg has a no-password free wifi set up in the public areas. No problem with that. In theory, it also has free wifi in your room, This is a separate system because the old walls are so thick. It is also password-protected. For both me and my colleague, attempts to connect never produced a dialogue box to enter the password into, so we could not use it. We were using different computers, so clearly the problem is the system and not our computers. We also heard other guests were having similar problems. There is also a computer in each room. However, these are elderly. Mine worked, and I could take the cable from that and plug it into my laptop to get online. My problems were solved. The one in my colleague's room did not work, and despite the efforts of the staff to restore it to life, never really did. As a result, to communicate and send documents back and forth we ended up having to use the public areas so we could be online at the same time. It wasn't a disaster, but it was a nuisance. We heard other guests telling the front desk that the computers in their room weren't working. Estonia is supposed to be all wired up and cutting edge computer technology country, but the von Stackelberg hasn't got this sorted.

Finally, a note about accessibility and location. I have noticed some reviews from customers unhappy about these aspects. Here's what you need to know. There are about 8-10 steep steps up to the lobby. If you have mobility issues, this could be a deal breaker for you. No problem for most people. Second, the old town of Tallinn has 2 components -- the hill with the cathedral on top, and, to the East of it, the old town itself. The von Stackelberg is to the west of the hill. In other words, you are about 5-8 minutes walk away from the old town over the hill. This has the virtue of keeping you away from the drunks and noise of the old town late at night, but it does mean you need to go up and down the hill (or take a longer walk round it). Again, no problem to most people. But if you can't walk up a slope, you won't want to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard side of the hotel for quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The website and images looked great. We were looking forward to the relaxing in the candlelit reception area by the fire and relaxing in our robes in our Zen room after hitting the city of Tallinn. Overall is didn't live up to my expectations. The room was basic and the bathroom not so clean. There was also no robe or slippers as advertised and the TV reception was unwatchable. The bar was tiny fridge in the reception and it was never candlelit or particularly inviting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smultronpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 86 in Tallinn
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $91 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing