We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it very satisfactory in terms of the price-quality relationship. The rooms are spacious and well maintained; the bathrooms are small but modern. The breakfast buffet is abundant. The hotel is an old residence renovated sometime in the last twenty years; the decor is rather dated but nothing wrong with that. There is a patio with a bar for use in the good weather. The location is just right--outside the old town but within easy walking distance. We found the hotel personnel friendly and quite fluent in English.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfalcoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    205
    63
    28
    11
See reviews for
66
281
31
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LLANELLI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel check in was very smooth and quick, I think they were waiting for us. We booked a zen room which was very modern, as was the whole of the hotel. The only quibble was that my son had the pull out bed which was our rooms armchair. The hotels location was about a ten minute walk to the old town , that wasn't a problem at all for us but it was uphill. The breakfast was great they catered for the whole of Europe, full English, continental and raw cauliflower! The hotel is situated on a busy crossroads in the city so you could hear some traffic noise, but acted like an alarm clock as I was awake at 7.30 every morning. All in all we really enjoyed ourselves at the Von Stackelberg and I would recommend it to anyone that is going to spend some time in Tallinn!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtwoshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was most disappointing. The first point was that this it just wasn't central enough. To get to the old town you had a 10 minute walk. Our room was on the first floor and just about eye level with the passing traffic so you had to get changed in the bathroom for privacy. The bathroom flooded when you used the shower and the room cleaning was disappointing - see the photos. The twin beds were too close together so we moved them about 6 inches apart. Every morning they were pushed back together. There was a computer in the room which was a nice touch but it was very slow. We complained about the room and in particular the street view and were told we could change rooms if we paid 15 Euros a night extra. We had to ask for pillows, one night there were two, the next day there was one! Bath towels were replaced by hand towels which we didn't realise until we came out of the shower. The maid trolley was parked outside our room the entire time we were there. Really really disappointing! There are a lot of really good reviews of this hotel but I can only be honest and I perhaps had much higher expectations hence my disappointment.

Room Tip: Dont pick one on the first floor or you will have to get changed in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at von Stackelberg Hotel for two nights during our honeymoon. We had booked a Zen room but were upgraded to a Zen Deluxe facing the yard, probably because we were just married. We also got a complimentary bottle of wine and a welcoming flower arrangement in our room - very thougtful!
The room was clean and spacious, with large windows and a comfortable bed, we could not have wished for anything better! The best feature was the large whirlpool bath. We also tried massage at the spa, which was good value, but as there only seemed to be the one staff there were not many times available for the next day, so book ahead!

Room Tip: We were not bothered by the traffic at all - so ask for a room facing the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last year in August 2012 for 3 nights. Our room was very large. High ceilings. Lovely modern bathroom. We couldn't hear anything from the rooms around us or above us. Hotel is located right on a busy corner. So just watch out for traffic.

It is located at the bottom of a hill but the walk up is well worth it. Toompea Castle and Alexander Nevsky Cathedral are just a 2-5 minute walk away and also Kiek in De Kok Museum is another 2 minutes up the road which also gives you access into the Bastion Tunnels it was really fasanating being able to go under ground into the tunnels that had been built in the 1600s by the Sweds. Then another 2 minute walk gets you into Old Town. Which is fabulous, We LOVED every minute of tallinn , didn't want to leave.

We got back to hotel quiet late every night and had no troubles. We also left quiet early the morning we departed and the hotel organised a taxi at our request from the night before to be waiting to take us to the airport, it was waiting for us when we checked out. All the staff where nice and also in the resturant attached where great.

I would recommend this hotel to every one that visits Tallinn. Great location, great price for the 3 nights , clean and friendly :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful building and has a lovely courtyard for enjoying a book and drink, but the rooms are not quite what we expected. We booked the Zen Deluxe to gain extra space with a couch for lounging but the couch was so hard you would never want to lounge on it. The other reason for upgrading and paying more for the Deluxe room was to have access to a "pillow menu" that we were told did not exist when we asked for the pillow options (although I then showed the receptionist the mention of it in the brochure in our room and she still said that they didnt have this but rather our room had a few pillows on the bed and that was what it meant- let it be noted that those few pillows were decorative.). We also did not have a stand up shower and the site says the room will have a stand up or jacuzzi tub. We got the tub and when we asked for a room with a stand up shower we were told none of the rooms had that. The a/c would not cool the room sufficiently and the breakfast buffet choices were minimal and not well stocked. Lastly, the location is just on the outside of the Old City, which is what we wanted, but we came to find the majority of the sites we wanted to see were on the other side of the Old City so we might have preferred to get a hotel outside the Old City but on the northern or northwestern side rather than southern.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendystarkriemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick on Shannon, Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was part of a group of 5 women visiting Tallinn for a long birthday weekend (ages 40-50). This hotel was in a convenient location, was small and charming, yet had a lovely spa (very affordable, and we were served champagne in the hot tub), an excellent and substantial breakfast, and lovely hotel restaurant and bar. The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful in every way possible. The zen rooms were spacious and modern, with jacuzzi tubs, cozy robes, an evening night cap and most amenities. Only complaint was lack of wi-fi in rooms (though there was a pc with internet in each room at no charge) and the lack of additional toiletries (I was looking for a disposable razor). There was wi-fi in main areas of the hotel, and the outdoor seating was private and charming- with blankets if needed. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel, and as women on our own felt completely safe in Tallinn at all times. It was a great place to visit.

Room Tip: Zen rooms were spacious and quiet, and had great black-out blinds for sleeping at any hour- ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,168 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
777 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 83 in Tallinn
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Property: von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn by Uniquestay Hotels is a fully renovated lifestyle hotel, featuring modern facilities in a historical setting. It creates something completely new – unique atmosphere, where the old meets the new. Originally built in 1874 as a private residence for a German nobleman, the von Stackelberg Hotel is located at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle and Nevsky Cathedral. To keep the historical interior, the original limestone walls have been kept inside to create a warm and welcoming environment, though combined with modern lighting and design elements. All 52 rooms feature free computers with high-speed internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Superior Zen-rooms feature whirlpool baths and aroma oil bathroom amenities with bathrobes, slippers and a mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing