We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with pleasant and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Just returned from this hotel after a three day stay in Tallinn. A beautiful clean hotel with helpful staff. Lovely courtyard for relaxing and unwinding after a day sightseeing. Very close to the old town, a pleasant 10 min (uphill) walk through greenery and in what appeared to be a very safe area. We stayed in a Zen room which was adequate but very small ,no windows but velux roof panels. It suited us fine as we were hardly in the hotel but I suggest it could have felt a little claustrophobic if the weather had been bad. The hotel restaurant served beautiful food at a good price but the outside bar closed around 10pm, although you could get drinks inside and take them out to the courtyard and the breakfast was more than adequate. Tea and coffee making facilities and safe available in the room but unfortunately the computer was broken so no access to the internet which was a little disappointing. A minor issue but would have been handy and the small room size hence the 4* rating.Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and the helpful staff and if we return to Tallinn it would be top of our list and we wouldn't look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior Zen room for more space/window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 685 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

First impressions – were all good, nice reception area, clean, bright, warm and uncluttered. The Receptionist although polite wasn’t the easiest to understand but we got there in the end. We were informed our room had been upgraded which was a pleasant surprise and later realised that this was probably due to the fact a ‘stag party’ had booked in and they possibly wanted to keep them contained on a separate floor ??

Our room was on the third floor, nicely furnished and fairly spacious although the window was so high up was unable to see any view unless standing on a chair. The bed was lovely and comfortable, pillows etc all to a high standard, TV had a few English speaking channels but not that we were too interested. The bathroom had a jacuzzi bath and under floor heating which was appreciated as quite cold and wet outside.

Breakfast was of a very high standard, couldn’t fault it, nice relaxed eating area and literally everything you would expect, the scrambled eggs where the best!!

The hotel was in a good location, reasonably quiet and about 10 mins walk to the old town, which appeared a very direct route on walking up but trying to find our way back turned into a bit of a nightmare! One wrong turn left us back to the main square with no idea which path to take, we ended up walking along a dual carriageway (the driving skills of locals was appalling and quite scary) taking about an hour + to get back so I would advise to really take note of landmarks etc.

Looking back I would say we had an enjoyable stay at the Von Stackelberg although the hotel staff not the most efficient and seemed to lack initiative. The hotel bar closes at 10pm (not sure if this is their standard time to close) which seems quite early but the hotel across the road stays open until the early hours.

Tallinn is an interesting place but would suggest two nights would probably be enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

In my books it's called misrepresentation! You book one thing and get something else!
We were also bumped into another hotel, along with others on the same day. It seems to me they are happy to accept bookings, but if a conference comes along meanwhile, they will find other accommodation for their guests - on arrival! It's as if the main hotel is the showcase and trap for something far less. To be honest I feel that the Management/Owners are putting their staff in an intolerable position in having to deal with very disgruntled customers. There wasn't a builder or materials in sight and we were there mid week. We put a lot of effort into choosing the hotel we wish to stay at - use precious leave and pay hard earned money for our leisure - this Hotel's Management let the beautiful city of Tallin and its tourists down. Avoid disappointment by booking elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
4  Thank gemsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrTll, Owner at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

I am truely sorry for the outbooking that occurred on your arrival which is unacceptable......I do understand that our reception had arranged rooms for you at a similar 4 star class hotel next to the hotel, but will investigate the issue further if you could send me your name
During this period we did have builders on the top floor of the hotel that had been isolated with a seperate entrance for them so as not to disturb guests......unfortunately the construction company was supposed to have finished the renovation of the last rooms 1 week earleir, which has resulted in this overbooking situation
The complete renovation of the hotel has now been completed, and I would be very happy to offer you a free weekend stay during this year in one of our newly refurbished Zen rooms on a complimentary basis if this is acceptable to you.....I look forward to hearing from you and can assure you that this situation is not a norm at the von Stackelberg Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We booked the hotel in February for a 3 night break with friends in May. We had seen on trip advisor just before we left that people had complained about being moved from the main hotel into the next door City Hotel, which was of a much lower grade, so we emailed to let them know that we did want to be in the main hotel.
When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed, until we went to book in. We were informed that the hotel was full and we were being moved across the road into a different hotel. Apparently the hotel had builders in (no sign whatsoever of builders or materials), we asked to speak to the manager when the story changed to being overbooked because of a conference. At this time they assured us that the hotel opposite was of the same grade. They claimed to have emailed us to let us know but it was the day before we arrived and we were travelling, we now had no choice but to go to the new hotel.
Later l we checked on line and the Von Stackelberg was listing 4 free double rooms but at a much higher rate that the hotel we were staying at!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
4  Thank maryc34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

we had reserved a double deluxe zen room with spa bath, zen atmosphere, ... my boyfriend even chose the option wine and fruits for 22 euros.
When we arrived, the girl at the reception was strange, very tired, holding 2seconds my bag, and when we came back, because the room was not ready. She asked us to pay as soon as she saw us. We did.
When we came back, she did not helped us taking back the bags, which were behind her, explained us quickly, without moving, where our room was...so we left to sick for it, but did not find, it was not nice to let us without showing at least the other buildong where we had to sleep. For the second time we came back to the reception and she told that it was last floor in the building next to the exit, but not the main building. She rather did not move... not nice, for the third time. we came to our room, last floor, under the roof, the stairs were not clean, the room either, and it was not the room we had paid for, but a simple room, without bath, without the zen options : no nasa chair, no special lamp, no bambou drawing, no comfort, not very clean, the computer did not work, no flat tv screen, but a very old tv, all that, and the pilot, also dirty, and 2beds, but not one big bed. When we asked for help to try to make the computer put on, the same person told us to press a letter and that's all...we tried everything, but it did not want to work, so we phoned once again, and she said "ok, someone will come". 5mn later, one girl came, very tired after coming upstairs, and she tried everything, during 1mn, but told us "sorry, i can't fix it', and was going to leave the room...We so quickly said that it was not very nice that everything was wrong and not similar to our reservation, and she wanted to see our reservation, admited that was not the room we asked for, but a cheaper one, and that she could not do anything... not caring a lot of customers, in my opinion. So after telling what was missing (she was not sympathetic and compassionned), she said she could offer sauna : it was free, so that was a wonderful joke ! we asked for at least a meal, and she answered we could not enter the restaurant because it had been reserved for the evening... we were desperate, and I was not zen at all (like the room !). She could give back the money we paid for the wine and fruits(not very big and good), offer a discount or offer us something, but she left telling she would ask her manager. Some minutes later, she called and told she could offer us a meal, but just entrée and main dish, or main dish and dessert, and only a soft drink... We accepted, and came to the restaurant, which was, o^bviously, empty !
The coffee machine was in fact an old boiler, and the cofee, 2 little dosette(=2spoons).
We asked if we had buffet for breakfast, because we did not received the informations ; it was included and to 10am.
We chose specially this hotel to offer us some spa treatment, but finally, we decided not to try...after all these annoyances or troubles. We did not really appreciate the stay at the hotel, and i do not recommand it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uwaga_cecilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Our stay at the von Stackelberg reminded me that if something seems too good to be true, it usually is.
We found what seemed to be a very good deal but when we arrived it was explained to us that the hotel have two 'houses'. We were then taken back out of the hotel and down the road to what turned out to be the City Hotel Tallinn which was operated from the von Stackelberg.
This hotel was ok, clean enough, but a little bit shabby, certainly not four star. We didn't enjoy the benefits of the main hotel and were glad we were only staying for two nights.
I'm sure that the von Stackelberg is a very nice hotel, it's just that despite booking and paying for it, we didn't get to stay in it.

Room Tip: he hotel across the road has a great cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JammieDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgrTll, Owner at von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

My sincere apologies for what happened to your reservation - it appears that the von Stackelberg Hotel was overbooked for your reservation, and we were unable to find a suitable Hotel of a similar or better standard on those dates - the only room that was available was at our City Hotel Tallinn, which you rightly said is not of the same standard (It is a 2 star budget hotel) and is not part of the von Stackleberg Hotel Tallinn - I understand from the receptionist that free entrance to the Spa at the von Stackelberg Hotel was granted, but this in no way compensates you adequately for our overbooking - I would like to refund your stay or offer you a complimentary stay with room and breakfast at the von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn during this year should you plan to visit Tallinn again - please do contact me personally to arrange, and I sincerely hope this will in someway compensate for our mistake

Michael Pilkington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Von Stackelberg for three nights in April. It is no more than 5 mins walk from the old town but top tip - make sure u mark the hotel on a physical map/Google maps as once in the old town which has more back alleys [all very interesting] than I care to tell you, it can seem like a maze to get back.

We stayed in a Zen Deluxe room on the first floor with jacuzzi bath. 3 nights B and B in a well sized room with free Wifi, huge plasma TV and computer in the room was 300 Euros.

There is a lovely spa area providing treatments but we didn't have time to check it out.

Taxi from airport to hotel 8 to 10 Euro maximum.

Breakfast is a good selection of hot and cold food.

The bar closes at 10pm [local regulations] but the bars in the old town are open till the wee small hours.

All in all, good value, very clean, little if any noise and handy for the old town.

Another top tip - free Wifi virtually wherever you go in Tallin e.g. bars, cafes, shops etc.....

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabriella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn

Address: Toompuiestee 23, Tallinn 10137, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range: $74 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable and elegant lifestyle hotel created in the 19th-century city estate of German-Baltic Baron von Stackelberg – a small, cozy quarter of its own located next to the beautiful medieval Old Town of Tallinn, Estonia. Originally built in 1874, the building has an exciting history and underwent complete restoration in 2015 and is constantly being improved and renovated. The von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn is located directly at the foot of Toompea Hill, only a few steps away from Toompea Castle, Nevsky Cathedral and the numerous landmarks of the best preserved medieval town in Northern Europe. You can enjoy a unique breakfast at the cozy restaurant Emmeline & Otto, which is also opened for fine dining, casual meals and drinks all day long. You can also choose to chill out in front of a fireplace in the von Stackelberg Lobby Bar with a delicious cocktail and a good book from the library corner. You can indulge yourself at our Zen SPA with a visit to the Japanese pool and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your von Stackelberg Hotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing