We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an experience you won't forget..”
Review of The Monk's Bunk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Monk's Bunk
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
“an experience you won't forget..”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed in Tallinn for three days. On hostelbookers they recommended the Monk's Bunk, so that was the place where I decided to stay. As a 35 year old lone backpacker a had a great time over there. Staff feels like family after one hour (that in case you take a sit at the bar and are willing to meet them). People from other hostels and even locals came over every night to have a good time at the hostel and afterwards a staff always took us to the city for a bar crawl. You never feel lonely in this place. For openminded people of all ages I highly recommand the place. Thank you for the great time Darren, Emma, Aaron, Serbia, Try and all the people I do forget! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    63
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
11
105
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I originally booked by stay in Tallinn for 2 days and ended up staying 5 because I enjoyed my time at Monks Bunk so much. Cheap beds and cheaper beers you really can't go wrong! The staff was super friendly and very helpful. The pub crawls are a must and encourage you to meet other travelers. As a solo female traveler in her 20s I never felt unsafe or uncomfortable during my stay. I highly encourage you check out Monks Bunk if you are planning a visit to Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Staff is awesome, they become like a family after only few hours spent with them. The Serbian guy cooks like my mom, and the hostel dinner is only 3 euros. If you get nostalgic about home cooked food it's perfect meal for you. PARTIEEEES are the best in here, like it's NYE every night. If you don't know the place to go out in Tallinn you should go to Monk's! And if you fall asleep on the floor or couch in common room someone will always cover you with a blanket. I spent there one month so I think my opinion is worthy, and I hope you'll have amazing time as I did. Btw everything is cleaned often - showers, floors, rooms; so you don't have to worry about cleanness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berni87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

In fact I have not left yet!!! Staff are awesome. Especially Emma!!.go to monk's for Serbia and Emma's cooking!! Cheap bar in the hostel so it's always a good time. And a sauna! So good. Comfortable beds and great location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Herpe_tologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in July last year, the place is very spacious with a nice common room, great showers/kitchen facilities and a generally good atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and the other travellers were all nice people. The free bar crawl is the best time to meet other people and see the night life of the capital. I would recommend this place to anyone travelling through Estonia!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great hostel with a good atmosphere. If you want to have a good time then definitely stay here as it has everything you would need. Fully equipped kitchen, lots of space to relax in and good location close to the old town and local bus station.

Organised pub crawls, other tours available plus staff are really knowledgeable as well as a good laugh.

Don't expect much sleep if you're a precious sleeper though. You will definitely feel at home here with such a good family atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Solo traveling can be sucky when you want to socialize. Places like The Monks Bunk cater to this perfectly. I arrived hungover and grumpy but immediately realized that this was going to be a great hostel and i needed to get into the mood. Pub crawls every night (i could only manage 2 out of 3) that will show you the best bars/clubs/pubs in Tallin. Staff are legendary. Be prepared for beer pong and shots with staff and other travelers. S*** will get crazy but I will never forget my time in Tallin. Love Skippy the bush kangaroo

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank seantripavisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk

Property: The Monk's Bunk
Address: Tatari 1, Tallinn 10116, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we, the staff, are backpackers like you, rest assured that you will feel welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave the hostel. Our bar area is the perfect place to party and meet fellow travelers and backpackers. There is also enough space if you just want to chill out, read a book or watch a movie (in our specially designed cinema room). At night time you are welcome to join us for a joined pub crawl with our partner hostel Tallinn Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Monk's Bunk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing