We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!”
Review of The Monk's Bunk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monk's Bunk
Ranked #1 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Returned yesterday from Tallinn, went for the weekend. Stayed in this hostel. Very cheap, the staff is super. We arrived late at night and we were immediately invited to walk. At the hostel, and the staff went to the bar. It was really fun. Thank you Matt. The staff show you the beat bars you can drink and dance, and it will be very cheap, When I going back to Tallinn will not even think about another hostel to stay at the same. If you decide to stay in it, do not forget to take home slippers, because in the shoes do not go here, everything like at home. Everywhere is clean. The beds are comfortable, the blankets and pillows are very soft. But understand that this is not a hotel but a hostel. If you come to see not only Old Tallin during the day, but during the night too it's the best chioce. the For young people this is the best place. It was really awesome!!! I love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 331 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

Monks Bunk was a nice, clean hostel with a cozy atmosphere. Surprisingly it was not very full of travelers during peak times such as breakfast or dinner (not good for a solo traveler) during my stay. At night however people from other hostels came over to pregame and it was a great cozy atmosphere and awesome for meeting others. Everyone I met stayed at Tallinn Backpackers which was a bit of a bother to meet up with them later.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbiatheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately this place didn't turn out like most of the reviews. It feels like it's been run to a tight budget and it shows. There are no dedicated cleaners - the reception staff have to do the cleaning and it shows - the general cleanliness of the place is very poor. A girl left our dorm and her bed sheets were left to fester on the bunk for two days after she left. Also they don't make any effort to create a nice atmosphere and so it felt like there was no community spirit - something I've always felt at other hostels. Generally the whole place felt unloved and poorly run and the staff came across as demotivated. Avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STUART R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is a gem. Owned by a couple of guys who own a few hostels in Tallinn, they really seem to know what they are doing. Great staff and service, super friendly and plenty of activities going on for all sorts of travellers.

We were there for the Champion's League Final and joined up with another hostel to watch it before going out afterwards - great fun!

Prices in Tallinn are very affordable and the location of this hostel is just outside the Old City, well within walking distance of the major sights.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a great 4 bed secluded at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmedsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Take a map because it´s a little bit difficult to find the hostel but then everything was perfect :) (many showers with hot water, many sofas where you can have a nap when you have to wait for bus, large equipped kitchen)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerkaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

hostel with clean rooms, showers, very helpful receptionists, large kitchen, safe and close to city-center.There is possibility to play billiard,wi-fi works well everywhere.I will chose again this hostel when travelling to Tallinn.Walking distance even to the port.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are better, less loud people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice location, not exactly in the Old Town but just about 5 mins away so very convenient. Close to the trams and buses to get to the Tallinn Bus Station. Nice rooms and clean bathrooms, and very affordable. The staff are really friendly as well, and had loads of fun going to see live music and pubs. The common areas are well equipped with computers/wifi, and the kitchen is spacious and full of equipment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank newmarcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#16 of 86 in Tallinn
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 86 in Tallinn
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk

Address: Tatari 1, Tallinn 10116, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range: $11 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we, the staff, are backpackers like you, rest assured that you will feel welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave the hostel. Our bar area is the perfect place to party and meet fellow travelers and backpackers. There is also enough space if you just want to chill out, read a book or watch a movie (in our specially designed cinema room). At night time you are welcome to join us for a joined pub crawl with our partner hostel Tallinn Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Monk's Bunk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing