We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome place to stay”
Review of The Monk's Bunk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Monk's Bunk
Ranked #1 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awsome place to stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Take a map because it´s a little bit difficult to find the hostel but then everything was perfect :) (many showers with hot water, many sofas where you can have a nap when you have to wait for bus, large equipped kitchen)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerkaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    67
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
11
125
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

hostel with clean rooms, showers, very helpful receptionists, large kitchen, safe and close to city-center.There is possibility to play billiard,wi-fi works well everywhere.I will chose again this hostel when travelling to Tallinn.Walking distance even to the port.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms are better, less loud people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice location, not exactly in the Old Town but just about 5 mins away so very convenient. Close to the trams and buses to get to the Tallinn Bus Station. Nice rooms and clean bathrooms, and very affordable. The staff are really friendly as well, and had loads of fun going to see live music and pubs. The common areas are well equipped with computers/wifi, and the kitchen is spacious and full of equipment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmarcchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hostel is located a short distance from the Freedom Monument and therefore from the old town.
Staff is really helpful, the hostel is well located, good price for service and a nice atmosphere were relaxing comes above all.
If you want to know about nice places to eat and drink just ask them! The Bar/Reception/Common area idea is great and showers, toilets and rooms are all really well equipped.
We had a great couple of nights and enjoyed every place we were told to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012, and any time I think of my stay there it makes me happy - Monks was an awesome hostel! Brilliantly designed, having the reception/bar in the middle of the common room means you'll be chatting and making friends the minute you check in. Perfect for everyone - those who want to chill can relax on the couches watching movies, those who like to party can drink at the bar, or go with Monks staff to trivia nites, pub crawls and Giant Jenga at sister hostel The Red Emperor. Best of both worlds. Whether you want to rock in blind drunk at 6am every nite or chill out playing chess or pool over a few quiet (and quite cheap) drinks at the bar, or both, Monks can offer it all. Plus comfy and clean beds, brilliant central location, Monks sets the standard for how all hostels should be. But what really sets it apart is the awesome, friendly and fun crew - big thank you to everyone, but in particular Trivia Queen Morgan, the amazingly sweet n' cheerful Anna and the superinteresting glowstick maestro Dimitrius - you guys Rock! If you're looking for a great place to stay in Tallinn do yourself a favour and give Monks a go, I'm sure you won't be disappointed. Rich Barnes, Australia

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Monk's Bunk is everything a backpacker could wish for!
Free wifi, awesome bathrooms, cool hang out place, pool, friendly and chattable staff and possibility of using the kitchen.

The atmosphere is very relaxed, young people would love it here.
You get value for your money, have nice staff to talk with and an overall good feeling.

Would definitely recommend other travellers to go here!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine_number1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Average place and a bit disappointing due to high ratings on hostelworld. Everything about this place is just average.

The rooms are cold and no curtains so people in other buildings can see into room. Blankets are very thin as well as pillows.

Staff is a mixed bunch. Some are very friendly and others aren't very helpful or condenscending.

The hostel looks way better on the Internet. It would probably be nice to stay when it is not snowing outside and you aren't freezing in your room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,228 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,682 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 85 in Tallinn
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk's Bunk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk's Bunk

Property: The Monk's Bunk
Address: Tatari 1, Tallinn 10116, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we, the staff, are backpackers like you, rest assured that you will feel welcome from the moment you walk in until you leave the hostel. Our bar area is the perfect place to party and meet fellow travelers and backpackers. There is also enough space if you just want to chill out, read a book or watch a movie (in our specially designed cinema room). At night time you are welcome to join us for a joined pub crawl with our partner hostel Tallinn Backpackers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Monk's Bunk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing