We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Atmosphere, Great Staff”

Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina
Ranked #29 of 942 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "No one does americana quite so well in Tallinn" Lonely Planet
Warsash, Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Atmosphere, Great Staff”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Although it may seem bizarre to go to Tallin and eat Texan sometimes you just need that beer and burrito (and a bit of chipolte on the side!) If so then Texas is well worth a visit. The place is heaving at the weekends so I recommend booking or you may end up with an hours wait for food as we did. Having said that we were told of the delays up front and the food was worth waiting for. Typically there is a wide range of Tex-Mex menu choices with chilli, ribs, burritos, enchiladas etc many of which you can choose your own ' chilli strength',

The restaurant also has a huge number of Tequilas to try and a good range of beer including the local draught beer 'Rock' which is brewed with a Texan style - it went down well anyway.

There was a good mixture of guests and the atmosphere in the restaurant is really good. Prices are very good for the Old town with main courses starting at around 5.99 euros for burritos and desserts at around 4-5 euros. Beers are equally as reasonable at about 3 euros for a half litre on draught.

The staff were all helpful friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English (thankfully!!). Well worth a visit if you fancy a change from Estonian cuisine...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank triphappyWarsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    115
    33
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Taste of Home”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

They have MGD in a bottle. That was all I needed while pub hopping there on the weekend when I was visiting. Always fun to find your brand of beer and take a break from local brews for a bit just for fun. Atmosphere was very much Texan and western US. Kept forgetting I was actually in Estonia and not the southwest anymore. Never ate and only went for a drink on my pub hop, but it's a nice change to the familiar and see how they incorporate the idea into a restaurant/bar 1000's of miles away from Texas...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex-Mex food and a wide variety of Tequilas”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I had a great time at this cosy restaurant in the Old Town of Tallinn: the food was amazing, the service very good (we arrived at around 11:00 PM and were allowed to finish our meal which went way past the closing time at midnight in peace) - and some of the 60+ varieties of tequilas on the menu weren't bad either (lots for 3,00 eur/4 cl, better ones around 6-8 euros - a bargain)! The entrance is not too spectacular, but the interior is very nice and for warm days there is a small patio in the back.

Recommendations: for starters, the absolutely excellent Grilled Pork Ribs con Sauce (3,50 for a small serving) and as a main course the Eldorado Super Sampler Combo (for two or more, 24,90 eur) or the very hot, delicious Texas National Chili (14,90 eur).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Tex-Mex I've had in Europe”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As Americans living in the UK, we are starved for decent Mexican food, but we found some in Tallinn. True, parts of the menu were unconventional--for example, the burrito had pickles in it (which was actually a really interesting addition)--but the selection of Mexican, American, and European beer was good, and the nachos were great. It's a solid choice if you're craving Tex-Mex, and the soundtrack is incredible.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WeatherlyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had an excellent mexican dinner at this restaurant. Interior of this restaurant makes you feel you are in texas in between cow-boys!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Texas Honky Tonk & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing