We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern twist on traditional”
Review of Kaerajaan

Kaerajaan
Ranked #42 of 955 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Modern Estonian Cuisine in a middle of Medieval Old Town Tallinn
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern twist on traditional”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Visited Tallinn with mum, and she was in the mood for some seafood one evening. We walked around and looked at menues for the different restaurants, and Kaerajaan had some - but they also had wild boar, and mum really wanted to try that! We chose to sit inside, and the interior is a modern take on traditional things, such as wooden chairs with felted wool, lamp with a shade like a giant knitted mitten, and so on. Fun, and different.
The service was rather quick, and the food was excellent!
Mums wild boar was perfecetly cooked, and so was my salmon.
I would definitely go back to this reastaurant on another occasion.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MennaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    144
    44
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hengelo (ov)
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice evening on the terrace”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great spot, right on the square. Nice terrace, very friendly staff and beautiful food .... For good prices too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank vosdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely setting for a super restaurant”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Forget the Tallinn restaurants that are recommended by your port talk expert! As we strolled through the heart of old Tallinn we came across Kaerajaan, and it did not disappoint. We had a table outside on the bustling Town Hall Square on a sunny afternoon. Service was very friendly and efficient, and the food was creative and beautifully presented. Our group ordered a variety of menu items, and everyone raved about their selections. My smoked salmon and spinach in puff pastry was delightfully light and tasty. It would have been easy to spend the entire afternoon sipping honey beer and watching activity in the square. Kaerajaan is the kind of restaurant that one dreams about finding!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pateislofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our trip”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Given their location in the heart of the tourist district, we found this restaurant to be anything by touristy and enjoyed our visit immensely. The atmosphere on the town square on a lovely summer day could not be beat, but the food made the visit even better. The spinach and smoked salmon in puff pastry was probably one of the best dishes we had on our two week trip around the Baltics. The pancakes with caviar, salmon and creme fraiche was also excellent. Several in our group enjoyed the lambkin hamburger as well. And of course, the honey beer was a must. So glad we chose this rather than some of the ship-suggested restaurants that were overcrowded and over-priced.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank krugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had an excellent meal here on a cold, wet May evening. Kaerajaan offers the best value on the town square. We enjoyed the Estonian cuisine offerings and the service could not be faulted.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank divebunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaerajaan also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Kaerajaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing