We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance yourself!”
Review of Olevi Restaurant

Olevi Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 970 Restaurants in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Small, cozy, intimate restaurant in the heart of Tallin's Old Town with unique interior, modern Estonian cuisine and attentive service.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Romance yourself!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A rustic candle lit cellar location provides a romantic setting to experience some lovely Estonian meaty treats. Sadly only half of our meal arrived, but we lived with it and still had a lovely time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    42
    18
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favourite”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Down some steep stairs to a small and slightly strange but intimate room. An usual menu with things like wild boar (absolutely delicious) as well as more usual fare. All the food was good as was the wine. My favourite meal of the week and it was not too expensive either.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cosy restaurant, but miserable service and just average food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We visited this restaurant in old town by instance and found a very cosy restaurant with nice interieur. Unfortunately the girl who was in charge of service this nights seemed that she had a very bad day and did not like to work. Most of time she did hide somewhere in kitchen and was not in sight somewhere. She also was not friendly at all. The food was average and nothing special. Would not recommend this restaurant unter those circumstances which is a pitty because of the really nice interieur.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average or poor food and greedy waitress.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Our food was average, little bit cold. Service was slow. Our bill was near 100 euros (5 persons). Waitress wants a tip, he said that 15 or 20 euros is ok to him :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rz96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“beautiful little place with good food”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stumbled upon this restaurant by chance when i was looking for somewhere to eat that was not too touristy, served something othef than grilled food and was not too expensive. The menu attracted my eyes, stomach and wallet: food served by the restaurant is diverse (Russian and Estonian) and prices are cheap. When inside i was disappointed: this place is a gem with beautiful decorations and waitresses in mideval costumes. My food: Russian home made dumplings as a starter and wild boar stew as main was fresh, tasty and well presented. The whole meal was only 17euro with two glassex of french wine and a tip. My only concern was that restaurant was completely empty which killed the atmosphere a little bit. The management definitely needs to do something to advertise the place more and attract trade. However if you are looking for a nice romantic place where you will definitely get a table and will not be bothered by loud tourists or waitors wanting you to leave as soon as you finish your meal, this place is definitely for you. You will not be disapointed..

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olevi Restaurant also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Olevi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing