We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good communication prior to the arrival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strand SPA & Conference Hotel
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Parnu
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a group reservation for a bachelor party. We were positively suprised when we all got suite rooms even though we ordered standard rooms. There was living room in the first floor and double bed with own bathroom in the second floor. Balcony was boring, not very clean, but nice view over a swamp and the sea. The room was clean, spacious, the bed was comfortable. Aircondition worked fine. The rooms were probably not used so much before our arrival, so during the first night the air in the second floor was very hot and heavy inspite of open windows/air condition. We were provided a nice and clean baby cod for our child. There was a tv in both floors. The reception was very nice. They answered all my e-mail quickly prior to the arrival. And gave very good advices regarding food and shops when we arrived. Spa in the hotel was very good. We also used private sauna which was big, spacious and clean with own bubble bath. Breakfast was ok, but a little bit boring, not so modern. Same goes for the breakfast room. The hotel is situated on the edge of the city. Easy to walk to the beach. And nearest supermarket is not too far away. Otherwise we had to use taxi a lot, but it is cheap in Parnu.

Room Tip: Junior suite was very nice. But really hot in the second floor in that room. So maybe not such a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 197 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

The service at the reception and restaurant was excellent, a la carte dishes were tasty and reasonably priced, breakfast selection was average. Twin room was absolutely average, but clean. They charge 12-15 euros for kids extra bed that is uncommon in 4-5 star hotels. Free wifi in room. I would say that it is a hotel with a swimming pool, not with spa. However the water was pleasantly warm, the steam bath was too hot, 50 degrees. As far as I know then 40 degrees are recommended temperature for steam bath.

Regarding the location, then it is too far from the town center for walking. There is also a night club (which was the biggest disappointment: drunk fat vodka tourists and smell of vomit) and a mini-golf.
Parking is free, but in summer time there might not be enough space.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I used a package deal for one night in Strand that included a suite (Marine Deluxe), massage for two, dinner for two, sparkling wine and fruits in the room, free use of spa during the stay, free entrance to night club Str& and welcome drinks there. I chose Strand mainly for three reasons: it was quite close to the sea, the room had a bath and hotel is a spa hotel.

Overall - I liked it.

The Marine Deluxe suite. It was just great: room was spacious and nicely decorated (including two chairs, a coffee-table, kettle, fidge, hairdryer, cosy bath). The room had a huge window-area along the room looking to bay of Pärnu (fabulous sunsets!). Unfortunately it didn't have a balcony.

The food. 3-course-dinner was great. I was quite surprised to have such a dinner in Pärnu. And this dinner was included in the package (a different menu). A la carte menu seemed to be even better. Breakfast buffet was good, but I have seen better.

The spa. A real disappointment. One bigger pool, one smaller, one jacuzzi, 4 lava-rock chairs (heated chairs) and steam sauna ... for a hotel that has 187 rooms! There was one Finnish sauna in ladies' and gents' area.

Night club was usual. Music from the 90's mixed with latest hits. Although the room was on the 4th floor (night club is on the 5th) it was quiet at night.

This hotel is great to spend a romantic week-end in a suite, drink shampagne, eat well and dance. If you love spa Tervise Paradiis may be better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qwerty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Hotel itself is built approx. 25 years ago and had liftup ca 5 years ago. It is very usual scandinavian style hotel for older people mostly. Locations is good, just 500m from the beach. Rooms are usual and sleep quality is OK. bathroom and specially shower equipment needs upgrade. Most disturbing in this hotel is very specific smell, which stays in the corridors and rooms due to muddy soil around. Also the shower and tap water having impact from this. Nothing toxic, but still disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Strand hotel offer quite a good quality for price they are asking. SPA area is not too big, there are only one sauna in the main area, and one for the seaparate men/women use. Breakfast was nice. I would recommend to stay in this hotel for young couples.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent a long weekend in Pärnu at Strand Spa in March. Its location is not very good if you dislike long walks, but we used the bus that stops near the hotel and taxi in late evenings (rather cheap). The lobby is small and the combined breakfast/dining premises are rather poor or let’s say ordinary. The room without balcony, but with a window that opens, was clean and quite ordinary too, but luckily with a fridge. Breakfast was poor and the atmosphere reminded more or less of DDR-times. The restaurant was very noisy in the evenings because of drunken Finnish guest. The spa was small and really nothing for us. The service was not much to talk about. We didn’t hear the noise from the disco - luckily. You can find these kinds of dull hotels all over in Scandinavia and the Baltic countries - , they function but nothing more.

Pärnu is a beautiful small town with good restaurants and picturesque streets and parks that you should visit in summertime.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimFredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

To start with, this hotel does not look like a 4 star property, as advertised. Yes, technically you've got everything you expect to find in a 4 star hotel, but the quality of stuff is quite mediocre. Bathroom was tiny, shower had a broken soap dispenser on the wall, there were no extra pillows in the room, and the ones we had were just tiny. On the bright side, the room was clean, quality of breakfast was good and the dining room had plenty of space. You also get a free entrance to their SPA.

The hotel is located not really next to the sea, but it is close. You can also reach city centre easily by foot in some 20-25 minutes. There is a grocery store just acrosse the road.

With regard to price, it is very affordable, at least in autumn, although I cannot say about summer time, which is considered a top season for this sea resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dog_in_the_fog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parnu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hedon Spa & Hotel
Hedon Spa & Hotel
#2 of 48 in Parnu
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rannahotell Parnu
Rannahotell Parnu
#3 of 48 in Parnu
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tervise Paradiis Spa Hotel & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Viiking
Viiking
#4 of 48 in Parnu
167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Health Centre and Hotel Wasa
0.9 mi away
Parnu Hotel
Parnu Hotel
#8 of 48 in Parnu
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand SPA & Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand SPA & Conference Hotel

Address: A. H. Tammsaare pst 35, Parnu 80010, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Parnu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Parnu
#6 Spa Hotel in Parnu
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand SPA & Conference Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strand SPA & Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Hotel Parnu
Strand Spa And Conference Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing