We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel for those yearning for historic charm”
Review of Ammende Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ammende Villa
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Parnu
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel for those yearning for historic charm”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was lovingly restored to its oppulence and charm it must have had in 2005 with 21st century amenities. My room (11) had its own sauna and my friend's room (5) had its own veranda. Fab breakfast and comfy decor. Every room is different.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laleh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Poor breakfast, bad mattress, no body lotion and no hair condition, in deluxe room we had small roof window without curtains, so in the early morning sun lite wakes you and the price per night is like in luxury five star hotel which it is certainly not, poor wi fi connection

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grantham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is possibly the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in.It was like staying in a museum!The attention to detail in the furnishings was exquisite,so much fine art nouvaeu detail everywhere,not to mention the amazing stuffed animals dotted around the place.
Breakfast was a delight,lots of choice of hot and cold dishes and lovingly served by a white gloved waitress ,who would remove the silver domed lid in unison and present your breakfast!Superb!The location is excellent,a short stroll from the beautiful beach of Parnu and about 15 minutes from the town.
This hotel is amazing and we would not hesitate to stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was staying here with a group of friends. Shared a room with one of them, but we had a very narrow double bed. So I ended up sleeping on a travel bed. So I would recommend this hotel more for couples. There is charm. The best hall, stairs and common rooms I've ever seen. Like a museum. We walked around the hotel and looked at all the details. Also possible to go up the stairs into a tower. Perfect and polite service. Good breakfast. Very good dinner, nicely presented food, tastes good. Not so central location, but easy to walk to the beach. The room was in shabby chic style I guess, but some details were too old. Like a small window, which fell out when I tried to open it. And some shelves which were impossible to open/close. Very clean and modern bathroom. Aircondition, which was nice on a hot day. It seemed a bit too expensive during high season, but staying in the middle of May was actually very cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Villa Ammende is an interesting hotel. The breakfast is wonderful and even includes a hot menu choice and champagne. The room was quite attractive, clean and comfortable. The area around the hotel is attractive. We were at the hotel for 2 nights and the first night was noisy until 11:00 with a group having dinner and unfortunately the noise carries up to the rooms. The second night was very quiet. The exterior of the Villa is not very attractive and appears to have had an addition that does not fit the style. This hotel just doesn't seem to be worth the high cost of sleeping here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayneann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

PRIOR to journeying to ESTONIA I had never heard of PARNU. as soon as i arrived after being led there by the locals I met in TALLIN and as soon as I smelled the BALTIC SEA blessed rose hips and sea air on a hot early summery day , I knew I had to stay over even though i was already paying for a 14th century jewel hotel in TALLIN. The temporary sign outside the AMMENDE VILLA said there were no rooms as a result of a special wedding I decided to venture to the front door and ask about its history . other hotels i had been led to were full on a summery SATURDAY so I was in limbo. with my special providential travel karma , a manager came out of the woodwork and said there was a room possible in the GARDENER`S house , which was just perfect for a single bohemian poet . little did I realize that the AMMENDE VILLA was magically located in a fragrant beach park which i took a luscious & wondrous midnite silent bike ride with aromatherapy filling the air exuding sea essences. breakfast the following morning felt like being on the TITANIC in 1912 without the ensuing disaster. high ceilinged salon breakfast room with champagne on the table and an immaculate sumptuous spread , fit for a king . plush velvet chairs to sit in . SUNDAY morning breakfast heaven!!! AMMENDE VILLA is the most famous property in ESTONIA`S SUMMER CAPITOL . THE art nouveau building built in 1905 by ST.PETERBURG architects for a rich ESTONIAN`S daughter`s wedding party and summer residence . . the interior of the villa is a masterpiece with its salons, dining rooms & luxury suites ... The AMMENDE VILLA became an unplanned royal 24 hour base camp and a flawless travel memory.

Room Tip: i was quite satisfied with a room in the GARDENER`S house which would be perfect for a single travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIchaeLEVINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh dear, I seem to be somewhat alone in my rating!

Villa Ammende IS a beautiful old art nouveau building and has been sympathetically restored
The staff ARE very helpful
The breakfast is great ... A good typically Estonian buffet plus hot food to order and a fantastic touch.... Bubbles and a little dessert for breakfast!
The service and food in the restaurant is impeccable
It is an easy walk to both beach and town centre

But I felt disappointed. Our room was small and being in the attic had low raked ceilings making the usable space even smaller. And whilst sympathetically decorated it was not at all what I would term "luxurious". The bathroom was adequate. I had decided to go with this hotel because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and the comments in Lonely Planet but really did feel it wasn't what I'd have chosen to spend almost 200 Euros a night on had I had an accurate picture. If you want authenticity and undeniably good service and food - YES. But if you are thinking plush luxury, no.

I do feel a little bad about writing such a review because as you can see above this hotel does get so much right.... It was just that I mistakenly expected plush luxury and I found myself instead in a grand old home that feels like the furnishings are the originals... Grand many years ago. Just not my style... Please be assured you will be very happy if it is yours, but if you are expecting over the top luxury in a more extravagant way you may also be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parnu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hedon Spa & Hotel
Hedon Spa & Hotel
#2 of 48 in Parnu
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rannahotell Parnu
Rannahotell Parnu
#3 of 48 in Parnu
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frost Boutique Hotel
Frost Boutique Hotel
#6 of 48 in Parnu
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viiking
Viiking
#5 of 48 in Parnu
140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Strand Spa & Conference Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kurgo Villa Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammende Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammende Villa

Property: Ammende Villa
Address: Mere Blvd. 7, Parnu 80024, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Parnu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammende Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ammende is a seaside Luxury Art Nouveau Hotel located in Parnu recreational area surrounded with large ancient parks. Hotel is aimed at romantic weekends and gourmet vacations, excellent for a business trips and company meetings throughout a year. Property location and layout ensure high privacy and security. Secured parking and helicopter landing area. There are 17 guest rooms with historical art nouveau furniture, six multifunctional halls and salons on the ground floor established for the a la Carte restaurant, Billiard salon and drinks bar, coffee salons, meeting places, business meetings. On the first floor Ammende’s library and work-table with PC for a guests. All rooms in the hotel are furnished with original Art Nouveau furniture and decoration items. We do offer five star product and service, taylor made party services, business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Ammende Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammende Hotel Parnu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing