We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE JEWEL OF THE SUMMER CAPITOL OF ESTONIA”
Review of Ammende Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ammende Villa
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Parnu
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THE JEWEL OF THE SUMMER CAPITOL OF ESTONIA”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

PRIOR to journeying to ESTONIA I had never heard of PARNU. as soon as i arrived after being led there by the locals I met in TALLIN and as soon as I smelled the BALTIC SEA blessed rose hips and sea air on a hot early summery day , I knew I had to stay over even though i was already paying for a 14th century jewel hotel in TALLIN. The temporary sign outside the AMMENDE VILLA said there were no rooms as a result of a special wedding I decided to venture to the front door and ask about its history . other hotels i had been led to were full on a summery SATURDAY so I was in limbo. with my special providential travel karma , a manager came out of the woodwork and said there was a room possible in the GARDENER`S house , which was just perfect for a single bohemian poet . little did I realize that the AMMENDE VILLA was magically located in a fragrant beach park which i took a luscious & wondrous midnite silent bike ride with aromatherapy filling the air exuding sea essences. breakfast the following morning felt like being on the TITANIC in 1912 without the ensuing disaster. high ceilinged salon breakfast room with champagne on the table and an immaculate sumptuous spread , fit for a king . plush velvet chairs to sit in . SUNDAY morning breakfast heaven!!! AMMENDE VILLA is the most famous property in ESTONIA`S SUMMER CAPITOL . THE art nouveau building built in 1905 by ST.PETERBURG architects for a rich ESTONIAN`S daughter`s wedding party and summer residence . . the interior of the villa is a masterpiece with its salons, dining rooms & luxury suites ... The AMMENDE VILLA became an unplanned royal 24 hour base camp and a flawless travel memory.

Room Tip: i was quite satisfied with a room in the GARDENER`S house which would be perfect for a single travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIchaeLEVINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh dear, I seem to be somewhat alone in my rating!

Villa Ammende IS a beautiful old art nouveau building and has been sympathetically restored
The staff ARE very helpful
The breakfast is great ... A good typically Estonian buffet plus hot food to order and a fantastic touch.... Bubbles and a little dessert for breakfast!
The service and food in the restaurant is impeccable
It is an easy walk to both beach and town centre

But I felt disappointed. Our room was small and being in the attic had low raked ceilings making the usable space even smaller. And whilst sympathetically decorated it was not at all what I would term "luxurious". The bathroom was adequate. I had decided to go with this hotel because of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and the comments in Lonely Planet but really did feel it wasn't what I'd have chosen to spend almost 200 Euros a night on had I had an accurate picture. If you want authenticity and undeniably good service and food - YES. But if you are thinking plush luxury, no.

I do feel a little bad about writing such a review because as you can see above this hotel does get so much right.... It was just that I mistakenly expected plush luxury and I found myself instead in a grand old home that feels like the furnishings are the originals... Grand many years ago. Just not my style... Please be assured you will be very happy if it is yours, but if you are expecting over the top luxury in a more extravagant way you may also be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Arriving at Ammende Villa I felt under dressed. Somehow I got the feeling that I should have been wearing an tightly-knotted Astrakhan coat over a silk lapelled tuxedo accompanied by a lady sporting a below-the-knee Jeanne Lanvin, her delicate pearl-skinned hand nestling on my arm.

But that's the classic beauty of this lavishly restored Art Noveau hotel and restaurant. A time capsule of style and sophistication located on the edge of the Baltic Sea in the Estonian town of Parnu (or Summertown as it's also widely known).

From the moment you enter the Villa's period doors it's like stepping back in time to a more genteel age, when design and style was simply for the sake of design and style. When decor was for pleasure and when opulence was for show.

Design, style and history are all in abundance at Ammende Villa, but so also are service, comfort, courtesy, sophistication and cuisine of worldwide standards. At reception on arrival along with the impeccable registration process an impromptu history lesson and mini tour were also thrown in adding to the feeling of a leisurely pace of life and a profound attention to detail.

The rooms and suites (of which I was also given a tour by the wonderful Manger Ms. Saks) were a delight of style and elegance. Despite the looks of a museum the feeling was one of warmth and comfort.

The rooms feature all you would expect from a luxury hotel, Giant TV (a little out of place it must be said), superb shower/toilet complete with jacuzzi bath, full-laden mini bar (Check the prices before you wade in), and beds of such comfort it's difficult to drag yourself out to venture towards the breakfast room.

Breakfast comes with a choice from a menu accompanied by a tiered tray of delicious delights; Baltic Herring, smoked salmon, fresh fruits, cheeses, cold cuts, yoghurts, pastries, and salads served on bone china table ware.

Dinner in the Ammende Villa's restaurant is another highlight of any stay. Chef Marko Lumera provides local ingredients in a very classical French styling; asparagus soup (which tasted like a light and delicious froth), foie-gras and local berry jams, herb-crusted rack of lamb and all presented with acute attention to the same style and attention befitting such and elegant premises.

Overalll, the Ammende Villa is a luxury getaway, a lover's retreat, a honeymoon haven, a bolt-hole from the city, a holiday to be remembered just as the building was designed to be over 100years ago. Do not miss this gem of hospitality and treasure.

Room Tip: Every room/suite is individual, and every one is equally and authentically wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here in February in the winter in the snow. I chose it because it looked "eccentric" - somewhat like me. It lived up to my expectations. The building is fascinating and the decor is rustic. The service is impeccable - both at reception and in the restaurant. The food was exquisite, served by a very polite waiter wearing white gloves. They helped to me learn around 10 words of Estonian, which will stand me in good stead for the rest of my trip. The walk along the beach this morning in the snow was delightful. I'm sure that, when I think of this place going forward, I will do so with a smile on my face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
502 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Characteristic estonian villa, with bricks and wooden walls, very wide private park (and Parking), high ceilings (ground level), period furniture. My room was mansarded, but with a wide bathroom and a very wide shower corner. Good the breakfast. Good the staff. Warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maurizio43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Ammende Villa is full of atmosphere with its creaking stairs, chandeliers, stuffed animals (ugh!) lots of wood, quaint furniture, interesting nooks and crannies. Our room number 11 was an attic room on 2 levels. Bedroom and bathroom on one then a few steps up to a sitting room. The bathroom consisted of three rooms, one being a full size sauna! After climbing the 2 flights of the hotel stairs you then open the door to the room to be confronted with another flight of steep stairs to the room. Staff were very helpful and carried our bags up for us thankfully. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. The Ammende is a little out of town but is an easy walk through the park and gate to the centre where there are several restaurants to choose from. Walking distance to the beach as well.

Room Tip: Beware room 11 if stairs are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a beautifully restored "villa" from a time when craftspeople cared about details and materials. There are still charming creaks and cracks here and there, the beds aren't super-comfortable, and you may be one of only a few guests (this could be good or bad), but Villa Ammende has outstanding service, a gorgeous facility, wonderful food (breakfast buffet and dinner), lovely grounds, and HUGE and nicely appointed rooms. (And pleasant-smelling soap and shampoo.) I was able to take a nice, long run (12 miles), much of it along the beach. My wife and I are in our 40s, we visited with her parents (early 70s), and we had a great time.. .

Room Tip: Our room had a huge sleeping porch with 2 beds in it. The temperature was a little cool to be out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NRoePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Parnu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hedon Spa & Hotel
Hedon Spa & Hotel
#2 of 48 in Parnu
381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rannahotell Parnu
Rannahotell Parnu
#3 of 48 in Parnu
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frost Boutique Hotel
Frost Boutique Hotel
#7 of 48 in Parnu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viiking
Viiking
#6 of 48 in Parnu
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tervise Paradiis Spa Hotel & Water Park
0.5 mi away
Kurgo Villa Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ammende Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ammende Villa

Property: Ammende Villa
Address: Mere Blvd. 7, Parnu 80024, Estonia
Phone Number:
Location: Estonia > Parnu County > Parnu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Parnu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ammende Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ammende is a seaside Luxury Art Nouveau Hotel located in Parnu recreational area surrounded with large ancient parks. Hotel is aimed at romantic weekends and gourmet vacations, excellent for a business trips and company meetings throughout a year. Property location and layout ensure high privacy and security. Secured parking and helicopter landing area. There are 17 guest rooms with historical art nouveau furniture, six multifunctional halls and salons on the ground floor established for the a la Carte restaurant, Billiard salon and drinks bar, coffee salons, meeting places, business meetings. On the first floor Ammende’s library and work-table with PC for a guests. All rooms in the hotel are furnished with original Art Nouveau furniture and decoration items. We do offer five star product and service, taylor made party services, business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ammende Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ammende Hotel Parnu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing