We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Otepaa
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located near the lake and beach. Premises are excellent, especially pool and bowling. We always take 5th floor family room, which is spacious 2-room suite. Breakfast is ok, you can sit outside on the terrase overlooking park and lake.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Olga_lus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

the highlight was the gorgeous light pool- full length glass on 3 sides with a view of the lake. you have to swim in the mornings if you don,t want to pay extra. Delicious, plentiful breakfast, comfortable rooms with large tv

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igor186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A nice place for putting your flip-flops and bathrobe on. On the spa side the pool is rather crowdy and the saunas are bit too small. The guest rooms are clean and well kept. Otherwise the staff creates a friendly atmosphere and makes the guests feel like at home. A rich breakfast buffet greets the guests in the morning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Markku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was there for Tehvandi rolling ski organizations. Did not even have a shower curtain in the bathroom. Breakfast variety was not enough. Environment and lakes are very nice. Barbecue on Fridays because I'm doing, but I could not attend. Bowling game area is nice and well thought out.

Room Tip: If you choose to refreshment room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

As other reviewers have said - this is not a spa. Pool facilities are poor, the service very badly organised and uncaring. Plus, they allowed people (at least a visitor ) to freely fotograph in the pool area. Personally, in this day of internet openness, I do not like myself or my children to be caught on photos taken by strangers of us iin swimsuits, trying to enjoy family time. Overall, bad experience, not worth visiting ...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful area, but it is definitely not a spa hotel. There are 100 times better options for spa hotels in Estonia, either in Narva-Jõesuu, Kuressaare or Tallinn. Stayed in a suite in the newer part and it was fine, nothing remarkable though.

There is just 1 pool for kids and 1 for adults, 1 jacuzzi and that is it. Customer service is indifferent, but prices in downstair pub are cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blond72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pitbull must have stayed in this establishment when he and his producers wrote his latest hit single "back in time", because that's exactly how it feels like in Pühajärve SPA. The room looks quite dated and the bathroom is reminiscent of the first years of Estonia's newly regained independence.

The staff's working culture originates from the same era - they never smile nor do they seem to care what is your opinion of the stay and service in general. For some reason they felt it absolutely unnecessary to let us know that the restaurant was booked for a private event on Saturday night, leaving us with no real options for a decent dinner (there is only one more restaurant in the village, and that was already full when we were "banned" from our own restaurant).

Breakfast is a disappointment - the choice is narrow and quality poor. There isn't even a cookie to go with a cup of coffee!

And the best bit - allegedly a SPA hotel does not include bathrobes in your room. You have to rent them separately from the SPA reception and return prior to check-out, or pay a 20-something € penalty. You also need to go through the SPA reception every time you feel like a swim to get the locker key. Naturally there's a queue every time.

The pool attendant is mean, constantly nagging with children for playing and the whole pool area is a sorry excuse for a SPA - only one jacuzzi, 2 underwater massage showers and a nasty baby pool where the water is too cold.

Suggestion - these guys should really go back to their roots and call themselves Pühajärve Sanatoorium - that's what it really is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iff335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otepaa
0.2 mi away
GMP Clubhotel
GMP Clubhotel
#1 of 4 in Otepaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Karupesa
Hotel Karupesa
#3 of 4 in Otepaa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
25.0 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ferienhaus Marguse
#4 of 4 in Otepaa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Ottilia
Villa Ottilia
#1 of 28 in Otepaa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Murakas
Hotel Murakas
#7 of 28 in Otepaa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort

Property: Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort
Address: Puhajarve, Otepaa 67414, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Valga County > Otepaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Otepaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A middle-class hotel Puhajarve with its cosy and comfortable atmosphere and a beautiful park offers you a pleasant time. We have taken every little detail into consideration, that includes also your wish to take your pet along. Our kind and friendly team will give the best effort to ensure that your stay in our hotel is most enjoyable and unforgettable. We welcome you to spend your holiday or a weekend at our hotel each year, to restore your health, to organize a conference or a meeting, to celebrate weddings, birthdays or any other family occasions with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing