We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, little run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Otepaa
Reviewed August 4, 2012

For a short stay it was nice. The sportspossibilities around the lake were many, rollerblade, rollerski, swim, bowling, jogging.... golf on Otepää Golf was closeby and nice.
Breakfast was varied and reception service helpful.

I did not try the SPA myself, but in the breakfast room I overheard only praise for massages and other treatments, not a single complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finn_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

A wonderful place to spend a weekend. Perfect environment, comfortable rooms, extensive breakfast. There are many ways to spend your time: a swimming pool with huge panoramic windows overlooking the lake, tennis courts, bowling, etc. The cafeteria in the tower is a must too! The only thing that prevented us from having a perfect stay was the face expression of the receptionists who seemed to be annoyed by the fact that we arrived and bothered them with questions. We saw a smile on their faces only when we we leaving the hotel. Be aware of the spa complex working hours: everything is closed on Sunday! It took us 40 minutes to overcome the SPA receptionist's initial resistance to do anything for a group of 9! Finally we were offered only one type of treatment, but it was worth spending so much time and efforts! Would recommend to choose the classical option and ask for Mr. Kuldar to do it! 100 % satisfaction guaranteed!!!

Room Tip: In the new building rooms with even numbers have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We decided to visit Pühajärve because of a great recomendations and positive feedback.
And - frankly speaking the location, pricing and facilities are as great as described.
But the funny thing was when we tried to speak with the staff (not the girls at the reception desk), they did not understand english at all. Some tried to speak russian, some just used gestures, guiding us to reception.
But, admit it, goin to reception when tryin to understand which type of a gel is beeing offered during massage or a bath is kinda funny, if we are not using any of a harsh words..
Massage is again a fuuny thing.
I ordered the weekend stay via phone and did speciffically ask for aviability of spa's - whoewer it was on the phone told me - it is possible to arrange the desired treatment on a location upon arrival. Yes - we were been offered to go to massage on a monday. Trouble was - we did stay during a weekend so - no free spots left for us and - the lady was frustrated when we asked - is the massage an option for a sunday. "we do not work on sundays" is a great attitude when you are running a legal office or a bookkeeping service, but for a SPA - maybe there is a slight change needed in the schedule...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marruciic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here as visiting the Tehvandi stadium to watch our son play football, having moved from a hotel in Voru which was not up to scratch , this hotel was nice. Rooms feel homely and nicely decorated ,bathroom let it down a bit with openshower that goes everywhere. Breakfast what you expect in Estonia- flies and all . Nice restaurant and pub. Did not eat there as restaurant was closed . On whole great location on the lake and would stay there again. Did not use the spa

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank Getmeoutofhere12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Very nice location by the Lake and lovely surroundings close to the nature.
Friendly and smooth, troublefree service.
Food (lunch & snacks) in the restaurant tasty and organic.
Affordable accommodation even during the peak season.
Rooms are a bit shabby and could do with a face lift.
No airconditioning.
Breakfast a little dissappointing vs. general quality of food.

Venture out to the walking trails near the hotel and by the Lake.
If you want to enjoy an excellent dinner outside the hotel there is the GMP restaurant just 200 meters away with fabulous menu and also high quality of food.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony facing the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrottingfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for one night for a business meeting. lots of retired people stayed in thr hotel when we were there.
Positive:
-great location
-lots of local organic food
-beautiful nature
-little organic shop

Not so positive
-swimming pool closed until end of july without notice on website or in hotel
-light curtains, not very convenient with only 3hrs of darkness at night
-shower curtains too short: whole bathroom gets very wet
-book spa treatments in advance: on the day itself they will be fully booked
-no wifi in the rooms

Our ( group price) was €55 p. night, which is for dutch standards great value for the money.

Room Tip: Room 224 is in the spotlight the whole night-try getting a room at the other side of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We went to this spa hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Since we were on the budget, we chose this as very affordable option. From the very arrival we were charmed by the place. It is really splendid place to take a deep breath of fresh air and feel good. All the complex consists of three parts: hotel, wellness center (spa+pool+bowling+gym) and restaurant/pub/café (old mansion with a lake-view and newly built sighseeing tower). Hotel room was nothing special, but clean and accurate. Staff was also very hospitable, we were given an additional pool visit during the day without extra charge. Surroundings are amazing. Restaurant is also a godsend. Carrots cream soup with chanterelle was absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otepaa
24.9 mi away
Lydia Hotel
Lydia Hotel
#1 of 22 in Tartu
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
GMP Clubhotel
GMP Clubhotel
#1 of 4 in Otepaa
33 reviews
24.8 mi away
V Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Karupesa
Hotel Karupesa
#3 of 4 in Otepaa
10 reviews
25 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Villa Nuustaku
Villa Nuustaku
#6 of 28 in Otepaa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort

Address: Puhajarve, Otepaa 67414, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Valga County > Otepaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Otepaa
Price Range: $86 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pühajärve Spa & Holiday Resort is situated on the shores of Estonia’s most beautiful lake, close to the nation’s winter capital, Otepää. The area is one of the most popular holiday destinations in the country, among Estonian and foreign tourists alike. The spa resort offers its guests cosy but modern accommodation as well as spa treatments and conference services. Pühajärve is an ideal destination for both health and recreation as well as a luxurious spa holiday. Tasty dishes and lovely atmosphere can be enjoyed in the hotel pub, restaurant or in a tower cafe with wonderful views over the lake. There is always something to do – the hotel has it`s own bowling alley, gym, swimming pool, tennis courts and many hiking trails in the surrounding. Necessary sports equipment can also be rented. Come alone, with a friend or with the entire family, stay for a few days or for the entire week – you will return home refreshed and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puhajarve Spa & Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing