We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
4
12
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4
12
3
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2016

location is very great.1km to the beach, 1km to the centre of town.Breakfast was normal, not very fancy.Area was quiet and peacfull.The personal was nice.
Parking is free.good value for spend a weekend in Haapsalu.

Room tip: second floor
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eakalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

I think the low season was to blame. It happened that a Valentine's Day offer of hotel Kongo caught my eye - it offered a room, use of sauna and a breakfast+dinner for a very attractive price. Obviously there was a good reason behind this - in February Haapsalu town is practically extinct. Most of the pubs and restaurants are closed and the activities (besides walking in the empty streets) are quite limited. In the same time this kind of still life had its appeal so I took the offer for 2 nights. Arriving in Friday night the reception was surprisingly cold and it became worse during dinner. There was a special menu for this offer (that consisted of 2 main courses) - I get that. But when I asked for the ordinary menu to buy something in addition, the waitress told that they did not have one. As the restaurant looked like a school diner, I even believed it then. But the next night there were also some other guests and what do you know - they had menus in their hands! I was willing to pay for some other dishes because the dinner offer was really poor, but lying that they did not have menu - that's something new. Breakfast on the other hand was quite ok.
The rooms in this hotel are clean but basic. As it was winter, the temperature inside could have been a bit higher, but this was not a major issue. The coldness of the staff and the weird lie about the menu were the real problems. It made me think that it was low season effect - it has probably been months when the hotel was full of customers and the staff has forgotten what servicing clients meant. Even if you use a well-priced offer, you should not be treated like second class guests. There were probably only 2-3 rooms filled with customers that weekend so every client should be appreciated. I know that for the receptionist it is very annoying when somebody cuts into your facebook conversations or some other online activities but for the sake of the hotel reputation, you should try it. Even in February.
The hotel, by the way, is well located and in summer it would be a great base for enjoying Haapsalu resort but considering my experience I would not recommend it. There are other places to try out and next time I go to Haapsalu, I definitely choose another place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Hotel is modern and a short walk from centre of town where there is a choice of restaurants, cafes and bars. Our room was quite small but clean and well kept. We were there during a very hot spell (exceptional apparently!) and west facing skylight made room quite hot in evening but would not expect to be a major problem. Good buffet breakfast. Quiet and comfortable. We liked Haapsalu very much as a place and as a base for the local area

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Haapsalu definitely worth visiting and Kongo hotel good place to stay. Go for the double apartment to have comfortable space. Bed a bit small. Reception staff spoke excellent English. Good breakfast, safe car parking, and easy walking to town, castle and waterfront. Good value.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spend one nigt in May, Nice city, and nice small hotel, friendly service. Rooms were ok, tv and shower smallest ones seen in a long time:). For the price (40€) Hotel was excellent:)
Haapsalu old town was very attractive, would like to visit there some other time also.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews