We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in any hotel for 6 weeks!”
Review of Spa Hotel Laine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spa Hotel Laine
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Haapsalu
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Despite a rather austere aspect, the hotel’s location is outstanding on banks of a lake, the Vaike-viik, and beyond that the Haapsalu Eeslaht Bay. Restaurant, overlooking lake, provided a good dinner with folkloric group entertainment – very enjoyable. The breakfast was awesome with huge variety – the best of our holiday. You wouldn’t need lunch after that. Our room was very basic, old, but clean. Hire bikes available, which we took advantage of. Great for a leisurely ride around the town, seeing what people were growing in their backyards. Mud bath and pool not available. You need a taxi to get to the hotel from the bus stop with cases, as it’s a fair way (5km).

Room Tip: Try for one looking over the lake. It was lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We (2 of us) went here just for a curative mud treatment. We originally planned a different treatment and even booked it. Before paying we changed our minds and they were good about letting us change. We both did the Haapsalu Curative Mud Treatment that is 15 minutes. The woman who did it was very kind, helpful, and professional. I am larger but she never made me feel uncomfortable. She checked on each of us during the treatment to be sure we were ok. Everything was so well organized and pleasant. Neither of us had ever done anything like this before so we didn't know what to expect. But overall it was a very pleasant, relaxing experience. I know there are other places in town that offer the mud treatments as well. But if we ever return to the area I would go back here because I know they are good. English is limited but with trying some Estonian words, them trying English words, and lots of gestures it all works out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is very simple, almost feel like staying a dormitory. Room is very small. The bathroom needs modernization. The shower is good. If you don't expect any luxurious, this could be ok!

Breakfast buffet with good varieties. The surrounding is nice.

When we were there the swimming pool and spa were closed for renovation.

Room Tip: With view of the sea on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Our seminar group of staff and students from four different countries had assembled in Haapsalu, and had a gala dinner here on our last night before returning home. The food was absolutely first class, and delicious. Both salad table and hot foods. Later served coffee/tea and cake. All the while enjoying the view over the lake. A memorable occasion and one that must be repeated in the future. Thank you, Laine/Blu Holm!

Room Tip: We only ate in the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank norwaybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We didn't live in this hotel, came there only for SPA.
Cause we want to have 6 massages in one time (for 6 person) it was really heavy to find time for us, but stuff was helpfull and can offer time for next day.

Massage and mud envelopment were nice, but atmosphere was like in soviet hospitals - more medical then relax: clear and white rooms with nothing decorative, serious stuff, empty halls...

I suppose this place will be wonderfull for people, who look for quitness.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alebaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I am combinated Norwegian buisnessman and freelancejournalist living in Tallinn.
I shood do a test on 3 estonian spacentres. - I choosed this one that is a recomended one by Estonian touristassosiation, and combinate the stayment by cover the Am-car-festival in same town. My stay was from friday 8th of July till saturday 9th of July
I booked in English, and got afther 5 houre back a answer in finlandic!!!! My famillyname or country shood not indicate I was able to speak finn. This was later solved by let my secretary call them in Estonian.
Then was it the checkin, and the free parking. It was few parkings avaliable but it might be because of all the amcarowners that used this hotel.
The checkin went OK, and we got room 317
The coridor is in 3rd floor with linoleum with bumps and holes, and looks like a hospitalcoridor because of no decoration and it even smells hospital (wrong soap :D )
Then was it the room. It was 2 singlebed with 15 cm distance. It was not possible to get the beds further from eachother because of the nightbed, but closer was possible.
It was full of dust over the bed, and on top of the wardrobe, and it was no picture or other decoration. Hospital-style, if it had not been for all the dust!!! With one cooler in the coridor for all to use, gave a litle inpression of western youth-hostels in the 80s.
The finnlandic naibours had party in the coridor with open doors between the rooms, and any security did obviousely not exist.
The shower in the morning had to litle capasity to cover a hotel that was under halffull of guest. It was hardly no hotwather at all, and when the other guest regulated the temperature on their wather, had I also to adjust mine afther them.
Then shood we go for breakfast. I am from orgin a Seven Day Adventist, so I am not a amateur on healthy food what we expect to get on a spacenter.
They had around 20 juices without cover, and many looked old. The orangejuice (a worldwide favorite) was empty and not filled up. They had not mutch vegetarian food, or spescial food you expect in a health-center like lacosefree. Their sossages was something of the fattest I have eaten, and I got foodpoisened of them. They had some hirsebeensw that was for sure prepared to long time under wather - they tasted nothing and was weth as sponge
They had no real healthactivity in the weekend. On Saturday had they morningswimming, a short training at 7,30AM and else only acess to sauna and swimmingpool later on the day. The hole healthpart was closed.
I told the hotel under checkout I was foodpoisened, and I cood afther 3 houre on bed tell it was the sossages. They was not interested at all. A respected hotel had asked me witch sossages, and removed them for further investigastion. They was not interested at all, even when I told I was a journalist. I expected they had reported, and some in the leadership later the day had called me to complain and try to know more about the food that needed to be looked at. But of cause no calls, Estonia is still partly in USSR in servicelevels and respect for hotelcustommers. Remember a lot of the guest was children and pensionist. I have been inside Estonia the last 6 weeks, so it is not travelingsickness compared to changes of envirements.
The location itselfe is built in russian time, and not mutch have changed afther that!!!
2nd floor had weared out textile on the floor.
It was a weelequippedplayroom on 3rd floor, but it was so extremly litle that it hardly cood take 3 children and 1 mummy.
I called the Estonian touristassosiations pressroom about it today, and they was not interested at all. This tells me that I have probelly more bad experience to look forward to, since I must inspect 2 more spacentres in Estonia
My womanon this trip was 150 kg (size XXXXXXL), and when she mooved in her bed, was the bed squicing. For the price I paid shood the bed at least take a person on 150 kg 90€ for one night on doubleroom included breakfast
Have not tested spa and swimming since spa is weekendclosed, and I was to sick for sauna or swimming before checkout
No internetacess in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just visited this spa with my family. We have payed for a package with accomodation for 3 nights and 5 treatments, but we left already at the very first night disappointed and unhappy because of the spoiled vacation. At first everything was ok. We were understanding when they said that it is not possible to use the Hydrojet waterbed massage, because it can happen that technics brokes. The hotel looked old and nothing special, but I knew it already. Rooms are small and nothing special, looking more like hostel. After we arrived, we had dinner( it was tasty) and after that we decided to go to swim. In our paied package there was included: Free use of Sauna and swimming pool from 1.00 to 10.00 p.m. We went with our 3 children (you know how hard it is to get all the children and stuff together:) and said that we would like to use the pool. Manager said that it is not possible, because there is a water gymnastic training at this moment in pool and we should wait 45 Minutes, because the instructor does not like if there are other people in pool. We said sorry but you have advertised that the pool is free to use from 1 PM till 22PM. They said nobody has complained further and come back later. We said sorry but our smallest child (3 years old) should go to sleep and can not swim so late, they said sorry we can nothing to do about. So this was the first negative impression. So when we finally were allowed to use the pool, the instructor of water gymnastic was so mad , that went and turned to music so loud that people (some guests from Finland) started to escape from the pool wondering what is wrong. Then my husband went and asked what is wrong and why they have turned the music suddenly so aloud. And imagine, the manager said: But think how have you behaved further (meaning our complains to use the pool)…
Ok I felt that this kind of attitude is not normal and maybe the stuff will also make our treatments to uncomfortable as revenge. It was not the vacation I could enjoy and so we left . So the conclusion is that they are advertising packages that are not existing and saying that they do not see any problems in that. How should I know about treatments, maybe there was also not 5 as advertised but less.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CitybirdTallinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haapsalu hotels
0.1 mi away
Promenaadi Hotel
Promenaadi Hotel
#2 of 8 in Haapsalu
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paeva Villa
Hotel Paeva Villa
#4 of 8 in Haapsalu
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kongo Hotel
Kongo Hotel
#7 of 8 in Haapsalu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fra Mare
Fra Mare
#1 of 8 in Haapsalu
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beguta Guest House
Beguta Guest House
#2 of 16 in Haapsalu
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haapsalu Guesthouse
Haapsalu Guesthouse
#3 of 17 in Haapsalu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Hotel Laine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Hotel Laine

Address: Sadama 9-11, Haapsalu 90502, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Laane County > Haapsalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Haapsalu
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa Hotel Laine 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Spa Hotel Laine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing