We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beer platter”
Review of FOREST restaurant

FOREST restaurant
Ranked #161 of 828 Restaurants in Vilnius
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Grill
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We wanted to go in and just have a beer. Upon studying the menu, we decided to have the beer platter as well. It was very nice and we enjoyed. However, we didn't try the rest of the food, so we can't say anything about it.
Atmosphere was nice and relaxing, waiters good.

Thank Iris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for FOREST restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 290 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

So my partner and I went there two days in a row whilst on holiday. First time we were very happy - the soups were delicious, the atmosphere absolutely stunned us (loved the tree inside the room). The next day we didn't think too long whether we should go back. But this time.. Rrrright, the drinks came relatively quick, the hostess was nice, but the servers - absolutely disgraceful. When asked for some different cutlery for my hard-as-a-rock Ciabatta, I was given the same knife and an angry look as if I disturbed her with my enquiry. The restaurant wasn't busy at all, there was enough staff everywhere, just walking around. Our meals arrived, but no one came to check back on us. We also had to ask for the dessert menus ourselves. And the last straw was a waitress, rolling her eyes when we asked her for the bill. Seriously?

The verdict: food is great and reasonably priced, but, even though we did, I wasn't happy about leaving a tip. If I come in to spend 100 LT on lunch, I at least expect a friendly service as they know this is how you get the tips.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Have visited the 'Forest' on January following recommendation of locals - outside the sign says 'SOYA' (which was a bit strange also to the local freind...) however it seems an asian food restaurant was opened on the other floor, sharing the same entrance....
the interior is really amazing - heavy wooden decor and the natural trunk inside reflects cozy atmosphere, and design of cabin seperators intensify your privacy - simply perfect !
the wide menu seems like trying to please any guest preference, however that's in most cases the difficulty with such places - they are OK but not 'excellent', as food level is not really constant... some are nice & tasty, others are not...
prices are relatively cheap, which make it ideal & freindly for youngers & locals too,
the main problem we faced there is service difficulties - some waiters are not fluent English speakers, which make it a bit complicated to get clear answers regarding optional dishes, additionally, it seems the kitchen has different ideas regarding rear/medium/well values, but one specific situation was really 'outstanding' - one steak was ordered specially 'rear' and supplied 'burned to death', than asked for replacement, and after discussion with 'the manager' the waitress came back trying 'to negotiate' some price reduction !! "in case you'll have it as it is" !! ooops... the funny thing is that the local freind told us later it might be "the owner policy".... bottom line ? great potential, take care !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zevik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Large veriety of dishes

Great service - kind and helpful

Wonderful atmosphere

Explain your wishes well so they could bring you what you want

Thank Benda6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The location and the interior are all very nice. The food was great.
But the serivce...
we had booked one day ahead and we expected to get a table upstairs (best tables), but we got a table hidden in the children's playing corner, with a loud speaker above us, downstairs. The staff hadn't even reserved a table for us (they picked a table which was just used). However, after some complaints we got an ok table upstairs.
The staff used long time to respond when we wanted to order our meals, and just one person could talk an adequate level of English.

And the dirty cutlery! It was terrible. There were food spots and fat stains on the forls and spoons.

Not to recommend.

1  Thank Mathias_Weseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest_restaurant, Manager at FOREST restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2014

Hello, thank You for the response. We are trully sorry You had a such bad experience with us.
We had almost 1 year to improve ourselves and at this moment we are inviting You to visit us again and gain more pleasant experience. Good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FOREST restaurant also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to FOREST restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing