We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful opera”

Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre
Book In Advance
More Info
$242.78*
and up
Vilnius 3-Day Soviet Lifestyle Tour
Ranked #33 of 207 things to do in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
kildare
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful opera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had not pre booked but called to the opera house at lunchtime and got tickets to see La Boheme. It was wonderful and we really the performance as the soprano was superb. We had champagne and canapés before the opera and also during the interval. Such a treat. This is a modern building, not looking great from the outside but inside the auditorium, it is very nice. Tickets were really reasonable, approx. 20 euro each.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank estateagentkildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bearskin Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

A beautiful building for a wonderful ballet company. A magical evening. Recommended for ballet lovers and ballet novices!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonClaire147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
“First impression of Vilnius Opera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I am an opera fan, for 30 years already, and have seen I think more than thousand performances in various opera theatres - in Riga, Vienna, StPetersburg, Bayreuth ad elsewhere,... and this was the first time in Vilnius, live.... It was Ernani, and the performance was amazing - very, very interesting staging, and all the vocal qualities were excellent. Absolutely I'm going to return to some other performances in Vilnius some time. The opera house is nice and convenient inside (although I'm used to more classical interiors, the hall here looked more like a concert hall not an opera), but one thing - I totally dislike the outer view of the building, and also - the surroundings! Maybe because it's early spring yet.. but still. The environment looks sooo shabby. But all that seems nothing when you get in... and total, happy immersion into the performance when it begins.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Superb,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were most impressed by the quality of both the ballet and opera performances we were lucky enough to attend while visiting Vilnius. We were also amazed by the very reasonable prices asked for even the most expensive tickets, far, far less that demanded in Paris, Brussels or London. This is culture at truly democratic prices, and also an interesting visit to appreciate better Soviet-style architecture. Not to be missed , but be aware that to make bookings on-line you need a credit card issued by a Lithuanian bank.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AJC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre also viewed

 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Lithuanian National Opera and Ballet Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing