We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“High Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

WOW what an amazing hotel! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kempinski in Vilnius and hope to return soon in the future. This hotel is of top class and every little detail from the service from the staff to the quality of the rooms is spot on. The staff were all so very helpful, polite and friendly during our stay and happily helped us with restaurant recommendations to train time tables. The room was one of the nicest we have stayed in as it was very spacious, clean, well appointed and comfortable. The bed especially is one of the most comfy beds I have ever slept in. The rooms are very sound proof so you don't hear anything from outside the hotel which can be busy by the Cathedral Square. The hotel is also located in an ideal place as it is close to the Old Town and many nice cafes/restaurants and shopping. The breakfast is also of a very high quality and the hot freshly prepared food of the breakfast menu is also very good especially the crepes with chocolate sauce : )

I would highly recommend this hotel to other travellers planing to visit Vilnius as it is certainly a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to learn from your comments that you truly enjoyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square. We would also like to thank you for your kind comments about our staff.

We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds. Next time you visit, we highly recommend selecting a pillow from our special collection listed on the room comfort menu.

We are glad that you enjoyed our remarkable European flair and hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    41
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
248
34
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Everything in this Hotel is excellent except for the breakfast arrangement .... too few tables, I had to wait up to 10 minutes before getting a seat. Staff cares only about clearing your table rather than bringing your orders. When buffet closes nobody asks you if you want to help yourself a last time ... no small mugs for cold milk for the tea .. simply unacceptable given price and overall rating of hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dermatologist55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

On our recent visit to Vilnius we stayed at the new Kempinski hotel, which was excellent. Great rooms, perfect location and very helpfull staff at the reception, as well as in the restaurant.
Food at the restaurant was exquisit, so was service. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slawomir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, and that you had a good overall impression of the hotel.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

If you're looking for a high-end hotel situated in the heart of Vilnius, located so conveniently across the street from several historic landmarks, you'll be really happy at the Kempinski. This property is only a year old, it conveys a classic, spacious beauty which extends not only to the elegant lobby, but more importantly to the rooms. Our large, sunny room was on the second floor and we had a beautiful view of the Cathedral Basilica right across the street. The bed was really comfortable and the linens were top rate. The bathroom couldn't have been more clean and beautiful, the modern shower was spacious, and there also was a large bathtub as an alternate choice. Included as amenities, bottles of water were also provided, plus a nice chocolate on the pillows in the evening. This property also has a really impressive spa plus a big pool and sauna, so it is definitely worth checking out, I only wish there was enough time to have explored it more. As for breakfast, you have a buffet option and/or a yummy selection from the menu, both were included in our room price. I felt at home here, but what motivated me to take the time to write this review is to let others know about the exceptional customer service you can expect at check in and throughout your stay at the Kempinski. Ausra, the Front Office Manager, was a genuine pleasure to have met and her positive, professional kindness also extended to the various staff members at the front desk who helped us with a myriad of worthy suggestions of where to go and where to eat. Ausra and her staff went above and beyond in helping us, especially when my significant other checked-in at the Kempinski not feeling very well. She and her staff went above and beyond to help get him better. Nowadays, many hotels can't be bothered, but this hotel bothered to care. They really wanted us to have an enjoyable vacation and we did. So, if you're planning a trip to Vilnius and you're looking to be pampered in style with exceptional customer service, Hotel Kempinski fits the bill. As for the bill, this hotel is competitively priced and you won't regret the investment. I am recommending the Kempinski to my friends and would certainly love to come back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worlditraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to hear that we contributed to making your trip to Vilnius a great experience. It was a true pleasure to learn that you valued the excellent quality of our rooms, bathrooms and in-room amenities.

It was also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our Kempinski The Spa. Next time you visit, we highly recommend trying the Kempinski Spa Signature Vilnius Treatment, created for Kempinski The Spa by Daniele De Winter.

In addition, we are especially grateful for your kind comments about our staff members’ attentive service. Your comments were well-received by Ausra and other staff members.

It was a pleasure for us to assist you, and please count on our team to assist you during your next stay as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

As centrally located as it can get (although Vilnius is a fairly reasonably-sized city), I stayed at the Kempinski during a work trip. The room I stayed in was absolutely lovely (attic style). The staff was very friendly and quite efficient and the breakfast buffet was OK, although nothing spectacular. The absolute highlight of this hotel was the bed, in particular the mattress and pillow. I don't believe I have ever slept this well in a hotel. And I got a similar reaction from my colleagues vis-a-vis the sleep quality, so I think it's worth pointing out. Overall, this is a very nice and tasteful hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justina K, PR Coordinator at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you slept well at our hotel. Next time, be sure to try one of our comfortable pillows offered on our Comfort Menu.

We look forward to providing you with personalised attention during your next visit at Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square.

Your Kempinski Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Friendly staff, very helpful and professional.
However breakfast management BADLY needs to be improved, namely...
There are not enough tables for breakfast and on the first day we had to wait about 10 minutes before being seated. This is should simply NEVER happen in a hotel of this range. I missed some fresh cheese in the breakfast buffet, and there are no jugs to keep some cold milk on the table for your tea. The water for the tea ran out, and I had to ask repeatedly before having it delivered. More generally, not only the breakfast staff is obviously under stress, but their main concern is to take away the dirty plates from your table and prepare for the subsequent dinner rather than bring what you ask for. (Probably because they are eager to go home..) . Finally they do not ask - when breakfast time is over - if the guests still present want to help them selves from the buffet before the food is taken away. So, unfortunately, the breakfast is managed at best as in a 4* hotel....

The concierge is very very professional and the rooms are spotless. Very good laundry service!

Room Tip: Rooms on the square can be noisy if you want to sleep with your window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

we were with chidren,receptionist changed room to superior,gave children books,delicious breakfast...(with shampagne;),nice SPA center,not too crouded,everywere clean,staff very polite,and The Telegraf's restoran did big plus.Thank's...obviously,we will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Astorija Hotel, Vilnius
0.2 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stikliai Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square

Property: Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
Address: Universiteto g. 14, Vilnius 01122, Lithuania
Phone Number:
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and elegant Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square is truly a distinctive and individual hotel experience in the very heart of Vilnius. Relax, enjoy and find yourself surrounded by refinement at one of our 96 rooms and suites overlooking spectacular views over the Cathedral Square and Old Town. The hotel features contemporary Le Salon Bar & Lounge, refined and elegant Telegrafas Restaurant, Kempinski The Spa offering relaxation and treatments, 6 fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing