We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in the whole of Vilnius. Beautiful rooms. Amazing value!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bernardinu Guest House
Ranked #5 of 70 Vilnius B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best location in the whole of Vilnius. Beautiful rooms. Amazing value!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay here. I visited Vilnius with my Mum and sister and we booked a triple bedroom with ensuite.

The room itself was really lovely. The furnishings were very pretty and comfortable. Spacious room and very spacious bathroom too. Very nice shower!

The guest house is in the best location, less than 1 minute walk away from the oldest street and tourist area.

The staff are so friendly, really welcoming.

I would highly recommend this place, great value for money, really lovely bedrooms and the location is perfect! It was great to be able to pop back into the hotel for a quick break because we were so close by to all of the attractions.

The only negative was that the free wifi wasn't very strong, and we would have to stand in certain parts of our bedroom to get a strong signal. However, we were still able to use the wifi for what we needed.

We really recommend this place. Would 100% stay again if we were in Vilnius again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PusheenIsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    50
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
109
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds West yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Bernardinu B&B House
Our stay at the Bernadinu B+B was our first ever venture into the bed and breakfast market either in the UK or the rest of the world.

The Bernardinu is a lovely place to stay. It is located in a quiet back street within 150 yards of the touristy bustling area at the top of Pilies Street in the heart of Old Town Vilnius. This B+B holds the Certificate of Excellence with Trip Adviser for the year 2013 for Vilnius. We chose this place as opposed to a hotel on the recommendation of a friend of a friend prior to reading the Trip Advisor reviews.
We paid for a Attic double lux type room with a double bed and a private shower, wc. A number of rooms on offer only have shared toilet/bathroom facilities. The room we got was very nice (room 4 in the 360 tour of the B+B) The only problem we found with the room was that the bathroom was outside the room across the landing only for our use and not en suite in the strict sense of the word. The room was very pleasant and the bed actually provided us with the best 4 nights sleep ever throughout all our travels. Breakfast a continental type, was paid for separately and I still cannot work out if it was worth having, but as it was convenient to have prior to pounding the streets on our daily routine we took it. Our room had both a tv which we did not use but enjoyed using the radio that was provided. With the room being in a loft we had slanted windows, we had to sleep with no curtains for two nights as we were not told (I eventually fathomed out ) that there were roller blind type curtains that were concealed within the unit. It would have been nice to have it pointed out on arrival!
We did enjoy our stay at the Bernardinu but there were a few things we would like to mention!
As mentioned in other revues you have a set of three keys to get through three doors to get to your room. At night in the dark trying to get up to our room we needed a torch, as there are stairs with sensor lighting did not always work, potentially dangerous.
The room was cleaned only every 2nd day not a problem with us as we are pretty tidy anyway but I thought worth a mention.
The white towels supplied in the bathroom appeared both tired and grey. They were only changed every two days. When questioning this the reply from the father of the owners was “ this is not a hotel”. As the towels were wet a nice touch would have been to supply the room/bathroom with a clothes hanger to give the towels the opportunity to dry.
During our stay the weather was lovely and sunny for the first three days. For the last two it rained for almost 36 hrs solid. On our last day, as we had a late flight back to the UK, we left out luggage at reception from 11.am till 6pm (when reception closes.) While in the office I spotted in the corner about 7 or 8 umbrellas. I think it was a real shame that despite the owners seeing us traipsing in and out of the rain it would have been a nice gesture to offer us one or two umbrellas to use with the persistent rain. I thought it a real shame that I had to ask to borrow two umbrellas and not be offered them.
There is no one(staff) about the place after 6.pm . We on arrival were not given any contact number to use in the event of an emergency. Not given any information about a local doctor, number to call,for police fire or ambulance and we had concerns with having to escape from the building should there being a fire having to negotiate potentially three locked doors obviously for security and one unlocked to negotiate potentially in part, in the dark, in the event of a fire.

Please note that the comments above are not directly complaints but observations that should be considered for future guests and possibly help the Bernadu live up to Certificate of Excellence it was awarded.

Room Tip: check out the 360 view of the rooms before you book they all look very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meanwoodjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Bernadinu Guest House is the best choice if you want to live in the centre of the old town with all the important spots of the city next to you. It is sited in the charming narrow street of Bernadinu where many visitors pass by to see as a typical street of the old town. The rooms are comfortable, cosy, clean and will make you feel as being hosted by a family. The couple at the reception are very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm just back from my second stay at Bernardinu B&B and it almost feels like home away from home. Rooms Nr. 1 and 2, facing the reception, are quite large and tastefully decorated with well-preserved ancient features.
It's a short walk to most of the main sights such as Pilies st., Uzupis, the Cathedral and Castle hill. Friendly and informal atmosphere. Breakfast is delivered to the room in a basket, so do not expect huge variety, but it's fine for the small additional charge. They could do better however, than presenting milk and orange juice in half-full cartons. If you arrive by car, it's essential to book a parking spot in the courtyard since there is no public parking in the near surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mylonakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very stilish, clean and comfortable place to stay in the heart of the qute city of Vilnius.
Breakfast is taken to the room in the morning :-)
The bedroom was huge and really nice. Personnel helpful and kind.
I recommend this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aribra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This guesthous was perfect for our needs, in Old Town but very quiet. I couldn't believe it when we were shown into our room, an apartment really, and very charming because of the restoration which had been so tastefully done. It was so comfortable, the only small issue we found was having to walk downstairs to the bathroom during the night. Staff were wonderfully helpful as well and, at the time of booking, always replied promptly to my questions.

Room Tip: Probably any room is OK as there is little traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisRAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this charming BB with my partner in September 2012. By far this is the most romantic BB I've stayed at on a budget. This is great value for money. Everything you expect - close to the old town, basic but clean, spacious rooms, with ample privacy, tucked away in a pebbled alleyway. A little difficult to find but well worth it. I loved how everything has been so well preserved, from the timber floorboards to the room decor.

It was a little cold in September and my only complaint (although minor) was that it was a little difficult to operate the heater. Nonetheless, I would recommend this to couples traveling on a budget. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dthai90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.1 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#24 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vilnius Home B&B
Vilnius Home B&B
#2 of 70 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernardinu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernardinu Guest House

Property: Bernardinu Guest House
Address: Bernardinu g. 5, Vilnius 01124, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bernardinu Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bernardinu Guesthouse is located in the 17th century building in a narrow and secluded street in the oldest part of the Old Town. From here you can reach the Cathedral, the Gediminas Castle, St Ann's church and Bernardine Church. In a couple of minutes the main street of the Old Town is Pilies street with is at arm stretch from our guesthouse. Some rooms have 17th century ceiling and floor and renovated wall paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bernardinu Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernardinu Guest House Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing