We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Grotthuss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grotthuss Hotel
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Grotthus Hotel. It was centrally located only a short walk to all the shops and attractions. The staff were warm, friendly, polite and went out of their way to help. The room was spacious with a very impressive bathroom/suite - and the deepest bath I've ever been in! The double bed was comfortable and the complimentary gifts and fruit was a nice touch. I was pleasantly surprised to find a smoking room/drawing room which was added bonus when arriving back at the hotel after a late night in town! A well deserved 5 stars - the only small drawback and that was only a personal choice is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - could really have done with a cup of tea first thing! An all round pleasurable stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATS_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    79
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
87
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, with lovely,artwork and beautifully decorated throughout. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. On arrival we were served a complimentary drink of champagne which was a pleasant surprise.
The dinning area is tastefully decorated and the food was delicious. Service was excellent and the reception staff could not do enough for us. The breakfast was delicious and so much to choose from. I am planning to return in the summer time!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SensualCuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I booked a group trip from the UK, not knowing which hotel would be included in our package. I just got back from the trip yesterday, and I was very impressed. The room was immaculate, spacious and well thought out. The staff members were very friendly and accommodating as well. Besides awkwardly placed shower heads (on long side of wall, not at the end), I really don't have any complaints. Regardless of the shower, I'd fully recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Buitque , unique nice hotel, ambience , good restaurant & breakfest. Indyvidual assistance of guests. Very friendly staff !!. Based in quiet location of Old Town easy acces and walk distance to main turist spots.
I was in business trip and I upgraded my accommodation to business room to work. They sold me (extra charge) ticket to internet access , however - there was NO internet coverage in room (business room !!) disappointment. When I claim it - they were not surprised about it... Breakfest was nice however - addtional change for cappucino coffe (strange). They charge for services , free of charge in other local hotels...

Room Tip: I was in business trip and I upgrade my accommodation to business room to work. They sold me (extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Only 20 rooms, so a genuine boutique hotel, professional, friendly and helpful staff, we had a basic room which was a very comfortable size, quality bathroom, the breakfast is indeed excellent. The restaurant looked very nice, a bit dearer than the average in Vilnius but has an excellent reputation for fine dining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First class staff , fisrt class hotel and amazing breakfasts. Everything was perfect and we will be back can not recommend it enough. The bathrooms are spoitless and clean as is every where in the hotel. The staff are friendly on hand with good advise and even google maps. Well done a very good hotel in a lovely city .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Not that there is much noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeko14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great small hotel, and the location is excellent to walk and explore the old town, and with a wide variety of restaurants and bars close by.
The breakfast is excellent, but be careful that the breakfast room is small, and guests like to linger on weekends, so you may need to wait if you come for breakfast in the last half hour before closure on weekends.
The rooms are well appointed, but the beds are small, and double beds are all of the twin variety, with a big split between the mattresses.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.5 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#19 of 88 in Vilnius
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Vilnius
Europa Royale Vilnius
#34 of 88 in Vilnius
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Artis Centrum Hotels
Artis Centrum Hotels
#17 of 88 in Vilnius
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apia Hotel
Apia Hotel
#42 of 88 in Vilnius
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotthuss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotthuss Hotel

Property: Grotthuss Hotel
Address: Ligonines g. 7, Vilnius 01134, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
#23 Business Hotel in Vilnius
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grotthuss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Grotthuss hotel is located on an idyllic cobble-stone street in the heart of Vilnius' Old Town secured by UNESCO, within several minutes walking distance of all the major points of interest (Town hall only 3 min. away).The hotel offers 20 beautifully appointed rooms and suites with original paintings and artworks. The aristocratic atmosphere and elegant service, along with all conveniences to modern life, including Internet access in all hotel (ISDN in rooms + Wifi everywhere), makes this the ideal hotel for the discerning business traveler.The restaurant "La Pergola" with a beautiful terrace is ideal place to have a lunch or dinner with a glass of wine in a good company. You will be surrounded by our waitress attention and elegance. Our restaurant "La Pergola" is one of the leading gourmet restaurants in Vilnius, with a wide wine selection. Our sommelier will recommend for You most impressive wine to each dishes. Our restaurant is away from city noise, rush You will find a coziness and calm, our guests are calling "it is a pearl in a shell". The shell is a part of ancient Vilnius city wall. To meet business partners and colleagues we recommend Cellar Bar, where You will have Your time to settle everything up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grotthuss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotthuss Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing