We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - but didn't feel welcome. Impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Grotthuss
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had to stay in Vilnius for 2 non-consecutive nights, and therefore stayed 1 night at the Shakespeare hotel and 1 night at the Grotthuss hotel. So let's compare:
Grotthuss
- very pretty hotel. Looks quite new. Very nice rooms. Better than the Shakespeare.
- GREAT location. Both hotels are well located.
- Nice terrace in garden.
- Food: we were there on a Sunday night, and their restaurant is closed ...BUT - and this was REALLY annoying - it meant they couldn't even serve us a coffee or drink in their beautiful garden or in their bar! Seemed like apart from the receptionist, there is no staff.
- Service is average, very impersonal. Whereas at the Shakespeare hotel, service is REALLY good. Staff very friendly.

So despite the Grotthuss hotel being more beautiful and smart, I more enjoyed staying at the Shakespeare.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Boutique Hotel Grotthuss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 203 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

Fantastic hotel within walking distance of all the sights in old town Vilnius. Hotel staff was wonderful, and strived to meet our every need. Breakfast was excellent! Both the rooms and hotel are filled with artworks and beautiful period style furniture, but also have very modern bathrooms, extremely comfortable beds, and flat screen TV. And everything was spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizarts99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent three delightful days at this hotel while seeing Vilnius. The hotel has a beautiful old-fashioned feel to it while also providing flawless modern service. An excellent breakfast is served in a walled garden each morning. Were it not for the wi-fi and flat-screen TVs one could be in an earlier century enjoying the charmed life of the elite. Totally delightful! The hotel is also within a short walk of all the major sites of the old city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice hotel at affordable rate and great location - near the restaurants and the city center. Helpfull staff and good breakfast. WiFi is available upon request at additional payment, but it would need a performance boost as sometimes it takes a while to get a decent connection.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DejanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Visited for a long weekend in June. Fabulous hotel with pleasant, courteous and helpful staff, particularly the girls in the breakfast room and the young man on the reception desk, nothing was too much trouble.Hotel was Immaculately clean and we stayed in Room 207 which was extremely large and had a small balcony overlooking the street below.Fruit and water waiting our arrival, beds turned down every evening and a small sweet/biscuit left for us. Lovely outdoor courtyard for breakfast or just chilling. Breakfast was superb, loads of cold choices and a cooked option as well. The little extras make a big difference, starched linen cloths and serviettes, immaculate eating utensils, all set in a beautiful conservatory. It may be worth nothing there are no lifts in the hotel although the front desk staff willingly offered assistance with our cases. Also no coffee ( only have coffee beans) or milk is provided on the hospitality tray and the bar closes promptly at 23.00hrs, neither bar or hotel restaurant are open on Sunday evenings. The prices are what you would expect in a 4* hotel.The hotel is situated just at the edge of the old town, easy to find and in what appeared a very safe area. Vilinus itself had lots of eating establishments with a variety of international cuisine and if I could recommend one trip it would be to Trakia. Easily done from the local train station ( 10 mins walk from the hotel) however be prepared for a long walk ( 4 km each way)from the station at Trakia to the castle on the lake, we did not see any taxis or buses.. The usual touristy shops in Vilinus, mixed with high class clothing retailers and amber jewellery and wooden toys. If you have not pre booked a taxi go to the tourist office at the airport, chitty provided , cost 25lt, book through the hotel for the return journey, a little more, 60lt as most of the hotels appear to have a contract with a local firm.Rate of exchange was definitely better at the local banks than in the UK at the time of our visit. Vilnius is wonderful, the hotel excellent, can't wait to return and stay again at the Grotthus, highly recommend the hotel, town and the people.

Room Tip: Room 207 at the front of the hotel was large, spotlessly clean and had the benefit of a small balcon...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Grotthuss in a "business class" room. Nice size with nice balcony overlooking courtyard.
Good bed, good bathroom. Bowl of fruit & vase of flowers were in the room on arrival. Excellent breakfast,
eggs made to order. One can eat in the courtyard in nice weather, or else in the nice b'fast room.
Hotel is walkable to everything - 10 minutes from bus station, 10 minutes to main square, 20 minutes
to Castle hill and Jewish museum. We thought hotel was a remodeling of a very old building, but not so.
It is probably no more that 40-50 years old. The neighborhood was part of the Jewish Ghetto and apparently
destroyed in WW II. In any case, one of the nicest lodgings we had in our 3 week Baltic-Poland tour.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I agree with a previous review - this is truly the antithesis of a business hotel. It's warm, cosy and welcoming. The garden is lovely and perfect for breakfast (or dinner). My room was large and nicely decorated.

If I would go back to Vilnius for a vacation, I would definitively go back to this hotel. If I'm traveling in business, it might be more convenient (but certainly more boring) to stay at one of the large business hotel closer to the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.3 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#23 of 88 in Vilnius
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stykliai Hotel
Stykliai Hotel
#20 of 88 in Vilnius
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centro Kubas - Angel
Centro Kubas - Angel
#30 of 88 in Vilnius
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europa Royale Vilnius
Europa Royale Vilnius
#31 of 88 in Vilnius
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mabre Residence Hotel
Mabre Residence Hotel
#21 of 88 in Vilnius
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel & Restaurant(former Ramada)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Grotthuss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Grotthuss

Address: Ligonines g. 7, Vilnius 01134, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
#23 Business Hotel in Vilnius
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: $101 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Grotthuss 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Grotthuss hotel is located on an idyllic cobble-stone street in the heart of Vilnius' Old Town secured by UNESCO, within several minutes walking distance of all the major points of interest (Town hall only 3 min. away).The hotel offers 20 beautifully appointed rooms and suites with original paintings and artworks. The aristocratic atmosphere and elegant service, along with all conveniences to modern life, including Internet access in all hotel (ISDN in rooms + Wifi everywhere), makes this the ideal hotel for the discerning business traveler.The restaurant "La Pergola" with a beautiful terrace is ideal place to have a lunch or dinner with a glass of wine in a good company. You will be surrounded by our waitress attention and elegance. Our restaurant "La Pergola" is one of the leading gourmet restaurants in Vilnius, with a wide wine selection. Our sommelier will recommend for You most impressive wine to each dishes. Our restaurant is away from city noise, rush You will find a coziness and calm, our guests are calling "it is a pearl in a shell". The shell is a part of ancient Vilnius city wall. To meet business partners and colleagues we recommend Cellar Bar, where You will have Your time to settle everything up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Grotthuss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotthuss Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing