We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit to learn about amber and to shop”

Amber Museum-Gallery (Gintaro Muziejus-Galerija)
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.25*
and up
Private City Tour of Vilnius
Ranked #38 of 207 things to do in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to learn about amber and to shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Clearly the main business of this museum is to sell amber, but they do have a nice exhibit of different kinds of amber. I can now assure you that there are probably more types than you ever expected. Our Vilnius resident tour guide directed us to this establishment. We learned about every possible test to determine if a product was pure amber. If your main interest is just to learn more about amber you can do so without any pressure to buy. If you want to buy they have a wide range of items for purchase. My wife purchased two pairs of earrings for relatives. Our trip took us north through Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and St. Petersburg. A general shopping tip -- my wife did buy one other amber item -- she said if she had known the prices were noticeably higher as we went north she would have purchased more at the amber museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtex78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    73
    46
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor,Ontario,
Level Contributor
437 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“A Nice Collection of Amber”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Like most "amber museusm" in the Baltics, th real purpose is to sell you amber. This is not all bad considering they inevitable question about authentuc versus phony amber. The Muesum has an interesting, small, collection and is worth a visit. There are plenty of amber shops in Vilnius but this one might be able to demonstrate how you tell real amber from created amber.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very interesting to visit but there aren´t many pannels to explain. Shop is good price but i was told there wasn´t fixed prices a year before, anyway it is worth it to visit if you want to buy some nice gifts and you have the guarantee to buy authentic amber.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noelia187448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
357 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Mildly interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Some nice samples of amber, but the place is small, cramped, and hot. plan on 10 minutes, no more. Some stunning jewelry on display.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Probably best gallery in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's definitely worth visiting this gallery as it's also small museum about amber and it's history in the basement and expositions are allways interesting. Staff is very helpful, well prepared and don't get angry if you ask something (unlike in most museums /galleries with staff in mid-sixties). It's interesting even if you are local thinking you know a lot about amber.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amber Museum-Gallery (Gintaro Muziejus-Galerija) also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Amber Museum-Gallery (Gintaro Muziejus-Galerija)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing