We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but the rooms are very "tired"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Vilnius
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location but the rooms are very "tired"”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were there with friends for three nights over Christmas. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. However our room was a disappointment. We unpacked on arrival and went for a walk but when we returned found that our door, although we thought we had secured it, was not locked and indeed the lock was broken. With the minimum of fuss we were moved to another room but this one was even more tired than the first with peeling wallpaper and the need for a really good renovation.
We arrived in the hotel on Christmas Eve and we were shown the dining room and the new basement dining room which is almost finished. They are very atmospheric. The meal was good, if rather expensive, and the choice rather limited. It seemed very strange to us that there were practically no Christmas decorations - although this did not detract from our enjoyment.
Breakfast, for me, was great as there were lots of salady type things and smoked salmon, which I love. But there was something for everyone.
The location is fabulous, on the edge of the Old Town. Vilnius is one of our favourite cities and was magical in the snow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    122
    52
    13
    13
See reviews for
41
106
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

At this hotel you are met in the reception with a smile and the attitude “no problem”. The staff’s English skills are superb and the understandings of a guest’s needs are quick and easily understood.

The location is very very good in one of the best locations in the old town of Vilnius. After a long business day I can just walk out and reach good restaurants and recreation facilities. Since it is in the heart of the city it is a lot of possibilities close. It is also easy to find transport to get to my meetings or pleasure activities.

The food at the hotel is good. The breakfast is maybe not so interesting.

I have got good, spacious, clean rooms, and I had a good sleep in the beds.

It is quite easy to find your hotel by foot when you come by foot after a good evening in the city.

I have used this hotel at several visits to Lithuania and will choose it again when visiting Vilnius, both in business and pleasure. The standard is good and can easily be compared with a Norwegian hotel.

I will recommend this hotel both for business and pleasure. RL

Room Tip: If you go with your spouse put in some extra and order one of the suites. It is good value for money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

a great place to stay.great location.the room was large .we even had a a balcony overlooking the church.the weather a bit cold to enjoy but even still we managed to go out and enjoy the beautiful view.the breakfast was good .the room for the meals was served in a room that had beautiful scrolls on the ceiling. the staff was so friendly ,helpful,and generally kind and caring staff,had no problem with the mini bar.so close to everything.near all transportation buses and trains definetely would stay again loved vilnius

Room Tip: we did upgrade from a standard room to the next upgrade the church bells do ring everymorning i am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is in the old town - at one end, near the Jewish Synagogue, opposite end of the castle on the hill. From the outside it looks very charming and the front desk staff matched it. The room was huge - could have put two more beds in it easily. While the breakfast was very limited, they did serve blinys (3 kinds) which were delicious and served in their vaulted-ceiling restaurant which had frescoes and was very charming.

The only bad thing was that we were on the third floor and had to walk up and down stairs. While the bell hop assisted us when we arrived, I chose to lug my bags up and down the stairs upon departure. The hotel seems to be a series of townhouse with uneven levels - that is why the stairs. Thus, if stairs are an issue for you, ask for room where you don't have to climb any. Otherwise, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue, ask for a room where you do not have to walk up and down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The best asset of this hotel is the location in the heart of Old Town, steps to historic Ausros Vartai. The room was small with outdated decor. The small fridge was full of drinks covered in mold, and despite 3 requests, the fridge was not fixed and the drinks were never replaced. The reception staff was helpful in calling taxis but repeatedly insinuated to me that they were annoyed by the number of phone calls I received. They kept telling me and my callers how "popular" I was. Best part of the breakfast was the fresh stuffed pancakes. The overall service and rooms seem standard for Lithuania, where they are still working on getting their hospitality industry up to four star international standards. This place is like a Best Western in the US.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
607 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent a couple of nights here on a recent business trip. My room was large, and had a walk-out deck/balcony (which is apparently where people go to smoke, since there was some evidence of ashtray debris). Comfortable enough, although if it had been hot that week, the lack of air conditioning would likely have been an issue. The bath/tub/shower area seemed to have some leaky plumbing, which resulted in water collecting on the floor, but hey, it's an old building and what's a little mold as long as it's behind the access panel for the spa tub jets?

Breakfast was surprisingly good, and the dining room is one of those old, vaulted arch rooms you find in old cities. Local beer was cold, good, and inexpensive.

All things considered, I liked the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a triple room that was perfectly adequate in size. The room was decorated to a decent standard. Nice and quiet for a good nights sleep although the third bed was a fold away which I was told was comfy enough. There were plenty of towels blankets and toiletries. There was a well stocked mini bar which, as standard in most hotels, was not cheap but there if required. Free WiFi worked well in the room. A good selection was available at breakfast.

The hotel staff we interacted with were very helpful and informative, especially the male day and night receptionists. Everyone seemed friendly there.

The location of the hotel is quite good with lots of bars and restaruants a stones throw away but the city is quite compact.

Maybe not an extravigent four star hotel by London standards but certainly worth the money we payed and we would definitly reccomend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.1 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#18 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Vilnius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.8 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mabre Residence Hotel
Mabre Residence Hotel
#20 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Vilnius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Vilnius

Property: Europa Royale Vilnius
Address: Ausros Vartu g. 6, Vilnius 2001, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vilnius
#18 Business Hotel in Vilnius
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Vilnius 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the 16th Century Spirit where Elegance and Tradition Reside The four star Europa Royale Vilnius Hotel is presented in the very heart of Vilnius Old Town evoking the air of Timelessness with XVI Century Cultural Heritage. An atmosphere where elegance and tradition still reside creating a Haven of Calm away from the busy streets of Vilnius.The peaceful and historic composition lies in the splendor of a 19th Century Mansion next to the incumbent monasteries and ancient city fortifications. The eminent old City Gates (Gates of Dawn) are one of the only structures left from the historic city walls. The other side of the hotel presents the beautiful architectural landscapes of the National Philharmonija Chamber along with the well preserved City Hall dating back to the Medieval times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Europa Royale Vilnius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Royale Vilnius Hotel Vilnius
Europa Royale Hotel Vilnius
Vilnius Europa Royale Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing