We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amberton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amberton Hotel
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

When we arrived, we got a room in the old part of the hotel: old hand towels, 1m² old bathroom, no facilities you would normally expect in a 4-star hotel.
We asked to change rooms to the renovated part of the hotel. Room, bathroom and towels were a lot better. Staff was impolite and not helpfull.
Breakfast was great. However, the restaurant is really too expensive to have dinner. Quality of the food does not match up to the price! Restaurant staff is also impolite.
At check-out hotel staff tried to charge for renewal of sheets etc.
Location of the hotel is great: you're in the middle of the center. Unfortunatly, the hotel is next to the cathedral and on a busy crossing (noisy).
Price wise, the hotel is not great, but ok.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RominaMauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    227
    114
    33
    20
See reviews for
59
128
44
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We spent a couple of nights in this hotel, and whilst I had no major complaints, it really wasn't as good as the price would suggest. Friends had problems with the size of their rooms but we got a big loft-style room. The decor needs updating, the TV doesn't really work, the bed is not that comfy and the shower is tiny. Location is superb though and the service is good. Breakfast buffet was often empty because the hotel couldn't cope with the tour group visiting at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia, Zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Very cozy hotel with wonderful view to the Cathedral of Vilnius. It was a pleasure to stay in Vilnius and in Klaipeda Hotel. Nice staff, good service, beautiful environment.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ZuzanaZuzana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

Stayed there for a weekend - the location of the hotel is just perfect! I could see the Cathedral Tower right in front of my room window and hear the bells in the morning! Amazing place - no need for transport, you can just walk around in the heart of Vilnius! Great service and tasty food!

  • Liked — Location, service, food
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank agnoolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Excellent location right across the street from the Main cathedral. Staff very kind and helpful, easy check in, adequate breakfast buffet, rooms old fashioned and nothing special, quiet, television small, beds very comfortable.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room style not very nice, not qite worth the price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

Really great value for money hotel. Reception very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good - cereals, fruit, variety of breads, yogurts, cheeses, meats and hot breakfast of eggs,sausage, bacon - bacon bit crisp but we were quite late ! Rooms excellent - great size and lovely view of the cathedral from the room window. Hotel modern - free internet - and spotlessly clean. Great location - right in the centre for almost everything. Only drawback was the charge for use of the leisure centre, 15 euro per person per hour for guests is ridiculous. Still highly recommendable hotel.

  • Liked — Quality
  • Disliked — Paying for leisure centre
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tomdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

The location can't be beat--directly across the street from The Cathedral--the national symbol of Lithuania. There was no reason to have a car to travel about Vilnius as the major tourist attractions are within walking distance and the rest of the city could be reached by bus. Our one experience with a taxi (from the airport to the hotel) was that it was terribly expensive ($18.00) where we could have taken the bus for 50 cents each (but we were tired after flying and just wanted to get there). We usually stay in mid-range hotels in the US (we especially like Hampton Inns), but we splurged on this trip. Apparently the rate we got was pretty good ($150USD per nite, including breakfast). For that rate, the facilities, etc. were minimal and the bathroom was extremely small. The breakfast buffet was substantial but you didn't know if you were going to get the same choices the next day. Food staff seemed to have a hard time keeping breakfast items stocked (like coffee and cream--the basics). Wi-fi is free, room was clean and staff efficient. Again, the location is SUPERB for exploring this beautiful city.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Price was a little steep.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank bighairproductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.2 mi away
Artis Centrum Hotels
Artis Centrum Hotels
#16 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#6 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europa Royale Vilnius
Europa Royale Vilnius
#29 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#11 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tilto
Hotel Tilto
#9 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Congress Hotel
Congress Hotel
#13 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Hotel

Property: Amberton Hotel
Address: L. Stuokos-Gucevichiaus g. 1, Vilnius 01122, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilnius
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very center with the views of Cathedral and historic Gediminas Castle. 100 meters to most visited street of old town and 30 meters to main shopping avenue. Spacious rooms, all with views to Cathedral square and rich hot and cold meal breakfast buffet with always fresh home made bread. Suitable for businessman, loved by tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amberton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaipeda Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing