We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Select Another”
Review of Amberton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amberton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Our tour group of 17 stayed here for 3 nights. Although it is centrally located to Old Town and many of the historic churches, I thought the hotel was dingy, dark and poorly maintained by most standards. Our room had peeling wall paper, unclean bed spreads and a drape off the track. The towels were a discolored gray, too. Too much street noise. The complimentary breakfast was good, though. I am surprised that Overseas Adventure Travel would use a hotel of such inferior quality. Book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
There are newer reviews for Amberton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 579 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

First, the hotel is in an amazing location, with the cathedral square steps away from the front door. The room itself was a decent size considering European standards. A large portion of the hotel was under construction, but they managed to put me in a location where I could hear no construction noise whatsoever. In fact, the room itself was very quiet.

Like most European hotels, the bed has no top sheet, only a comforter and it did get hot sleeping with only a heavy comforter in the middle of the summer.

The room was clean, the bathroom was very modern. I don't eat breakfast, so I can't comment on the quality of it. Just an OK hotel, but the central location in the heart of the Old City makes this hotel worth while.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorersample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times over the last 2 weeks, staying in 3 different rooms. None of the rooms had clocks or facial tissues, and they only had pumps for soap and a combo shampoo-shower gel like they have at many gyms. Room 1325 was completely modern with king-size bed, flatscreen TV, totally new bathroom-- lovely like all classy hotels (Marriott, etc.) Room 1405 was smaller with a double bed and updated decor, as well as balcony looking out to the cathedral. Room 1210 has not been updated, so the decor is sparse and dated, though it's spacious and has a tub, probably enough room for wheelchair accessibility. The best part of the breakfast is the many options: eggs, bacon, sausage, blintzes, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit (fresh/canned/dried), sliced meat, bread, cheese, vegetables, etc. The location is steps to the cathedral, easy to find an ATM, short walk to the main Old Town streets of Gedimino and Pilies. The best part of this hotel is the reception staff. Give them a smile, and they will move heaven and earth to help you! They helped me with directions, taxis, change, dialing the phone, messages, luggage, everything. They cheerfully greeted me every time and were the most helpful service people I encountered in the country. I do recommend starting here and everywhere in Lithuania with a hello and a smile. Most customers don't, but it served me well every time. I'll definitely come back to this hotel and ask for room 1325!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, such as Room 1325. Rooms at the front have some street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socali123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The Hotel is really good. Good location - in the centre, close to old city and hundred meters from beautiful center plaza with Cathedral.
Breakfast is good! Trust me.
People in the hotel are nice.
4th floor with balconies is the best.
Only minus - small and poorly furnished rooms.
But it is ok, if you suppose to see the city, not to stay in the room all day long.
So, i think, i will stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor, rooms 1409-1410
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxim_dronov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Amberton gave us a really nice two floor room. Bed room was upstairs with sky windows in bedroom and bathroom.
Downstairs had a small livingroom. All together room was just perfect with two beds.
Breakfast included, had the typical stuff in it, OK.
Location is right in the center, and old town is just a minute walk away.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm a frequent traveller and stayed only in Vilnius in four 4* hotels in the past few weeks. This one was the worst one and I would never recommend it to a business traveller or a person used to 4* standards. THIS IS A MAXIMUM 3* even more a BACKPACKER hotel (.

The only plus I see is the location in the historical city center.

In general the staff in the hotel is not competent and unfriendly ( didn't had hot water in the shower in the morning, complained in the reception came back in the evening the problem was not fixed, had to complain the second time).

I stayed in the room 1416 if you go to this hotel don't take this room !!! It is a 2 story room with no wiev( downstairs no windows very creepy bathroom) in the 2nd floor is the bedroom with small roof windows. Close to the roof windows is an air-conditioning entity or something similar is placed, so you can’t have the window open as the sound is so loud you have the feeling an bus would be next to your head.Only big pillows in the bed which are great for watching TV not for sleep.

The cleaning standards in this hotel are low - cleaning lady only cleaned the bathroom ( bath corner still wasn’t clean), she didn’t enter the 2nd floor of the room and didn’t touch the bed.

In the breakfast there was no space where to sit down as many guestss entered at the same time, and when I asked the waitress what to do she didn’t came up with any suggestion (open the door to the terrace for instance). The food selection was average.

All in all I didn't sleep for 2 nights and had the most unpleasant experience in the last year in a hotel.

Room Tip: If you already book a room make sure you have one with balcony / view on the cathedral
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iva82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Amberton Hotel is located in the center of Old Town, across the street from Cathedral Square. From the hotel it's an easy walk to the many shops and restaurants in Old Town as well as Vilnius University. Gedimino av. is a short walk from the hotel. Very nice Italian Restaurant is located off the hotel lobby, serving the buffet breakfast. Hotel rooms are basic. No bar soap in the bathrooms, just liquid soap. Free internet in the hotel lobby. If you're looking for a nice hotel in a great location, this is the place.

Room Tip: Room 1307 seemed to be bigger than most other rooms. A corner room with a view of Cathedral Square.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#8 of 88 in Vilnius
1,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artis Centrum Hotels
Artis Centrum Hotels
#16 of 88 in Vilnius
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#3 of 88 in Vilnius
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Narutis Hotel
Narutis Hotel
#14 of 88 in Vilnius
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
0.8 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#21 of 88 in Vilnius
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberton Hotel

Address: L. Stuokos-Gucevichiaus g. 1, Vilnius 01122, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vilnius
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: $85 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amberton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very center with the views of Cathedral and historic Gediminas Castle. 100 meters to most visited street of old town and 30 meters to main shopping avenue. Spacious rooms, all with views to Cathedral square and rich hot and cold meal breakfast buffet with always fresh home made bread. Suitable for businessman, loved by tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amberton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klaipeda Hotel Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing