We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel's usual rate - not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Eastern City Gate
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I just came back from a 3-night trip to Vilnius. I was travelling with 2 kids. I booked City Gate Hotel because of it's incredible low rate (9 euro per night for a double room with an extra bed) in one of the hotel reservation sites. I realized that it's someone's mistake but still made a booking. Upon our arrival reception girl tried to say that the price is unreal. But it did not bother me much cause i had a booking confirmation in my hands.
The room was ok, but there's a lack of storage facilities. For 3-people accommodation it was only 1 very small wardrobe for hanging coats, no shelfs for cloth at all. Cleaning lady was probably cleaning only in the middle of the room and the bathroom because all the corners especially around the desk and under the beds (where someome's Chupa-Chups was lying all 4 days) were full of dust. Most of the time it was an annoying sound coming from pipes in the bathroom even if the door was closed.
At the end i've paid 27 euro for 3 night including breakfast which is of cause a fantastic deal. BUT i would not chouse this hotel for 82 Euro which they have mentioned upon arrival. Last April my husband and I were staying in much better 4-start hotel just 300 m away for 75 euro per night (and it was before the crises which touched this country a lot)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luntik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 265 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

Stayed there on our tour to baltic states. Arrived late at night and the staff were very helpful. We got a room on the third floor. The room is great and arranged with taste, spacious enough for three star hotel. The room has a small fridge, TV has popular international news channels in English. Hotel has an elevator and free wireless internet in the whole hotel. Breakfast was ok - musli, cheese, yogurt, fish, bacon, tomatoes, cucumbers, boiled and fried eggs. We used safe deposit boxes, order tours and some extra services at the reception. Receptionists are helpful, willing to assist and their English is very good! In my opinion main advantages of hotel - location and good price. The hotel is centrally located, very near to Gates of Dawn and town hall. A wonderful base to explore Vilnius. Lots of restaurants and several massage salons, art galleries and nigh clubs around.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Rovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

If you thought that the practice of negotiating room rates is stuff of legends, think again. We successfully haggled a triple from €135 to €100 per night. I actually feel bad because this was the coziest hotel yet in our tour of the Baltic states.

Don't let appearances fool you. Its curb appeal leaves much to be desired. But once inside, you know instantly that this boutique hotel is a gem. The staff is friendly and casual. The included breakfast buffet is tasty. There is free wifi access as well as a house laptop for use. The rooms are uniquely furnished, not the typical cookie cutter design of bigger hotels. The wood floor in our room was a nice touch. The view however was forgettable. The bathroom layout was bland and had a persistent mustiness to it. We were provided with an aerosol deodorizer and that was a good enough solution. The hotel is a two minute stroll from the Gate of Dawn. There doesn't seem to be much else in terms of food and shopping nearby.

Consider this place if you favor a quiet, cozy atmosphere with convenient access to old town Vilnius.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights at the city gate and had a comfortable stay. Our room overlooked a brick wall, which didn't bother us as we spend most of the time at hotels sleeping. The room was clean and spacious.

The breakfast was a good buffet style. You ask for your hot drinks at the bar - which at least saves waiting for someone to take an order! The staff were friendly and helpful.

The only minor problem with our room was that the alleyway between our room and the brick wall which provided our view was used by large lorries in the mornings, so we were generally woken up by 7.30am because of the lorries. Generally this wasn't too much of a problem as we do like to get out and about quite early - and it saved us using an alarm clock!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gecko77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Excellent few days at this hotel. Good location near the city but still quiet. Staff on reception were very helpful and, like most Lithuanians, spoke good English. Room was large and comfortable, breakfast was buffet but still fine. Didn't eat in the hotel but they have a bar at reception where you can by soft drinks, beer and small items of food at reasonable rates (better than mini-bar rates in usual hotels). Would recommend

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackJohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Liked this hotel very much. The young women who staff the reception desk were very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect. It is across the street from the Gates of Dawn, which is an entrance to the Old Town. The hotel is set back from the street and it is very quiet at night. I thought the hotel was quite charming. It is built around a courtyard and is fairly small. The buffet breakfast was good -- not great -- we had some better on our trip - but more than adequate. Our room had high ceilings and large windows. If you are traveling by car, as we were, there is free parking in the courtyard, which is very convenient. Only 2 negative comments. There is no air-conditioning, and one night the electricity went off for about an hour. It wasn't a power outage -- the rest of the neighborhood had electricity. They got somone to come fix the problem. Don't know if that happens often. One tip - we booked on their website and they gave us a 10% discount. When one of my friends decided to stay an extra night, they gave him the 10% discount for that night too. There was no fuss about it. Also, the rate on the website was much cheaper than on some of the travel sites, even before the discount. Check out their website before you book.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Maric5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

I stayed here on my East Europe tour in May 2007. What I could tell is that the hotel have made a really good impression. I stayed in a nice and spacious room on the third floor. Hotel staff seemed to be attentive and always open for a small chat, furthermore receptionist did a great job and gave valuable information about the city. The restaurant is stylish and the breakfast is above average.
It's also worth mentioning that they offer some free of charge services for hotel guests - cable TV, wireless internet connection, safe deposit box, secure parking. It's only 5 minutes walk to the City hall of Vilnius, bus and railway stations are also close! This hotel with it's location, right understanding of the hospitability term and the price is definitely hard to beat!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrParrondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#13 of 88 in Vilnius
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.8 mi away
Vilnius City Hotel
Vilnius City Hotel
#41 of 88 in Vilnius
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexa Old Town Hotel
Alexa Old Town Hotel
#46 of 88 in Vilnius
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#25 of 88 in Vilnius
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Algirdas City Hotels
Algirdas City Hotels
#26 of 88 in Vilnius
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Eastern City Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Eastern City Gate

Address: 3 Bazilijonu St, Vilnius 2001, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range: $45 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Eastern City Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Best Eastern City Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern City Gate Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing