We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value hotel, perfectly located next to Old Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Eastern City Gate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Eastern City Gate
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel, perfectly located next to Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a triple room, which was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and spoke excellent English.They have various wifi routers meaning all of the floors have good signal. There are also two computers with free internet access. The entrance to the old town is just across the street so in 5 mins you can be right in the heart of it. It is also close to the train station, about a 10 minute walk. As expected, breakfast was simple but did he job. All in all, an excellent stay, would certainly return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjostl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    110
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
37
67
41
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel is very well located, just across the street from the main southern entrance to the old city and in walking distance (5-10 min.) to the main train/bus stations incl. the airport public transportation (bus&train).
Its facilities are rather basic as is the general feel to it. But it is clean and considering the price the hotel offers a good value for money. The breakfast is not very varied and offers basic but tasty options (eggs, bacon, ham&cheese, salami, salmon, muesli, cereals and yogurt). You have to ask for coffee though. The room was basic but clean and had linoleum flooring. The room was very quiet during the night but there is apparently a school or a kindergarten nearby which was clearly audible in the morning from our room.

All in all,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rope_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Monday 11th Feb 2013 for 4 nights arriving home today Friday 15th Feb. This hotel is situated on the opposite side of the road from the Gates of Dawn, which is a main route into the Old Town, so ideally located. The room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable, BUT there is no kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room which I found to be a let down. The breakfast is another issue, not much choice at all. Fried eggs which are very rubbery, hotdogs (which are cold), tiny pancakes, cold meats and yoghurt. You need to ask for tea and coffee, there is no waitress service, and you do feel you are asking for gold when you do ask. The television in the room has 3 channels and only 1 in English. I believe there is a bar at the hotel, but we didn't use it, it is so cheap to eat and drink in the town we didn't even consider it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in october and the reason I choose this hotel was mainly it's location, opposite to The Gates Of Dawn and a walking distance to many sightings and the price. The room I stayed in was very basic, the bed was cracked and you hear every whisper in the hall or from another room. It was a small room, but clean. Breakfast was included every morning. Don't expect anything fancy, just regular food. From outside this hotel looks amazing, from the inside it looks very cosy. A good place to stay for a few nights, near a Maxima and close to the railway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raeinn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

The wifi works very good. The breakfast is not much but the blinis are good. Not much of a view from the rather cold room. They charged me for a broken glass! I have never experienced that in a hotel or a restaurang, that was realy cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerrSparsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was a 'walk-in' at this hotel as I was unexpectedly detained in the city, and I wasn't expecting much - the location, although convenient (an easy walk from the station, opposite Gates of Dawn) - doesn't look impressive as it opens off a public car park and at first sight seems rather dark. However my room - one of the cheapest in the hotel - was clean and comfortable; the spacious bathroom was sparking and the staff were welcoming and hospitable. Breakfast is buffet-style but the charming chef made sure that dishes were frequently replenished and the coffee flowed fast; in this city too many expensive hotels are let down by lacklustre breakfasts. I paid less than 30 euros for my stay and I was amazed at the value for money. I'll certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in The City Gate hotel for 4 nights and i cannot fault the stay. The rooms were clean, spacious and there was a buffet breakfast included.

It's location is relatively central, being across the road from the Gates of Dawn and a 5 minute walk from the old town yet it was quiet and there was no night time disturbances. The hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner and there were no bar facilities but drinks were available for your room.

The rooms were basic but clean and well maintained. The en -suite bathroom had a large shower and hairdryer was provided, Our room did not have a refrigerator but others did. The staff were friendly and attentive. I had made some requests before our arrival, i asked for a kettle in room and that we would be arriving late so as to hold our room. Both requests were met with no issue.

Overall the City Gate is an excellent find and having booked through Hotels.com i got a very good rate it was well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
0.0 mi away
Moon Garden Art Hotel
Moon Garden Art Hotel
#16 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexa Old Town Hotel
Alexa Old Town Hotel
#45 of 88 in Vilnius
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rinno
Hotel Rinno
#7 of 88 in Vilnius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#20 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Royale Vilnius
Europa Royale Vilnius
#30 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotels Rudninkai
City Hotels Rudninkai
#29 of 88 in Vilnius
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Eastern City Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Eastern City Gate

Property: Best Eastern City Gate
Address: 3 Bazilijonu St, Vilnius 2001, Lithuania
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Eastern City Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Best Eastern City Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Eastern City Gate Vilnius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing