We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent business-type hotel but a little out of town and watch for overcharging”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vilnius
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent business-type hotel but a little out of town and watch for overcharging”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

It is theoretically walkable to the old town/train/bus stations but it is a fair distance away, particularly when there is a trolley bus stop around the corner. (First one when you cross the river) The buses are very cheap, c. 50p for a single. (2 Litas)

The hotel itself is pretty unmissable as it is fairly large and on a corner.
Got checked in with a minimum of fuss, into a rear-facing twin room.

By modern standards, room definitely not fashionable but certainly comfortable, good beds and required facilities. (No tea/coffee though) Everything very clean and pretty quiet in mainly business district.

Dinner service was excellent, very helpful staff (English speaking) and prices reasonable compared to UK. However, prices in the city generally much cheaper again. I would eat out/buy groceries were possible. Don't expect too many smiles in the shops though! :)

The old town is certainly the most picturesque part of Vilnius and it is worth climbing the Hill of Three Crosses and going up to the Old Castle as well for the views. We also went to Trakai which was a nice day out. I'd advise the train ahead of the buses though, no clue what was going on there, whereas the train station is the end of the line so you can't miss it.

Anyway, back to the Holiday Inn. Everything ok with our room and the location was bearable although not the best. Check-out was another matter though, we had a 2-for-1 rate and they tried to charge full price. Claimed that the rate was invalid as they couldn't charge my credit card (plenty of funds available). NO contact in advance from the hotel over this though and they let me check in without mentioning it. Upon check-out, it was clear they were not willing to listen even though I remained polite (the security guard came to stand behind me as though I was a trouble maker) so I left rather angry. Contacted ICH Group directly and they apologised and then forced the hotel to refund the overcharge. Felt like a cheap con to me and lucky the hotel chain placed some value on my custom or I would have been out of pocket and never went to an ICH Group hotel again.

The three stars are strictly for the comfortable room and the helpful waitress. I would give the check-out staff and their stinking attitude 0 stars.
Fair play to the hotel management for eventually apologising directly by email to me for what was clearly an unacceptable situation though.

I would generally stay away, not very cheap overall and there is plenty of choice in the city centre proper.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamezon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    193
    37
    4
    0
See reviews for
40
92
52
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Currently staying with this property in Vilnius in an executive room on the 7th floor of a modern and simple building.

The hotel is located just some north of the river Neris and closer to a business district.

My room is swish and decidedly modern with everything one could expect from a Holiday Inn. The bed is very comfortable, so yesterday I even thought to myself I was like in paradise.

The bathroom is spotless, with a lot of nice "Neutrogena" toilettries provided.
There is a minibar, a safe, trousers press, an iron and ironing desk, tea making facilities. The walls and windows look like to be soundproof, because I have not disturbed with any noise from outside or from other rooms. The hotel itself is quiet.

Check-in was efficient, the receptionist was very friendly and responsive and she welcomed me with a charming smile. Lobby bar at street level is excellent, one may spend a whole day watching the world go by and drinking, especially easily if it is on your employer's expense account, but this is not my case.

Standard American-style breakfast is rather expensive and costs 40 Lt. (1 Euro = always 3.4528 Lt.) though tomorrow morning I would prefer to have one somewhere in these nice cafes in the Old Town, with buttered pastries and freshly brewed coffee for just about 10 Lt. or even less.

A taxi-ride from the airport costs no more than 33 Lt. but taxi-drivers always proove the foreigners to pay at least 50 Lt.

Be smart and offer your price!

A pre-ordered taxi service from the airport to the hotel will be within 30 Lt. But if you are an experienced traveler you may wish to use inexpensive city bus which looks like the same public transportation as in many other European cities. A single ticket from driver costs 2.50 Lt. or you can get one from R-liosk in the arrival hall of the airport for 2 Lt.

In-room Wi-Fi internet connection is poor, to my regret, and I have had to place my laptop on the sofa right in front of lifts/elevators, here it works perfectly. But the hotel provides a LAN cable for free if you want to.

Gym is small and tiny. I did not use it.

Thus, the hotel is good and I would recommend it to everyone who likes making a short trolleybus-ride or 15-minutes walk when going to visit the magnifient Old Town.

I attach hereto some photographs I took upon arrival - hope these would be of help to you, my honest reader, when making your smart choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattellone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
259 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here for two nights. As PC Platinum member I was upgraded into one of the seventh floor executive rooms, which was cosy, clean and nice. Had everything I could wanna use. The bathroom floor was heated. The internet (which is free) was very slow at the first day, but improved on the second. TV selection was ok, hotel is cca. 1km from the old town, easily walkable distance. Paid 60 Litas for the taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Ammenities seemed fine to start with until logging on to internet. Did not work so tried to phone reception, phone did not work so settled for TV...you guessed it. TV did not work on 2nd and 3rd floors. Little concern from the receptionist but on checking out was given a 10% discount which wasn't much of a consilation when on business...will find an alternative hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalkmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Not a bad hotel just far below the quality at other Holidays Inns I stayed at recently like Beijing And Chengdu

PRO Free Internet was a plus
CON no free breakfast

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Good hotel, comfortable, nice staff, good breakfast, had everything I needed and is only 15 min walk from the old town. So good chose for business and pleasure traveler. Only negative thing is not the hotel but the Taxi's, they all try to rip you off, so ask first for the price before you take the ride.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurdur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vilnius hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel LT Rock'N'Roll Vilnius
0.5 mi away
Novotel Vilnius
Novotel Vilnius
#8 of 88 in Vilnius
1,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lietuva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Congress Avenue
Congress Avenue
#2 of 88 in Vilnius
223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Cathedral Square
0.3 mi away
Congress Hotel
Congress Hotel
#13 of 88 in Vilnius
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vilnius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vilnius

Property: Holiday Inn Vilnius
Address: Seimyniskiu 1, Vilnius 2600, Lithuania
Phone Number:
Location: Lithuania > Vilnius County > Vilnius
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Vilnius
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vilnius
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vilnius
#9 Family Hotel in Vilnius
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vilnius 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Vilnius hotel which has been completely renovated, is located in the city center, on the right bank of the river Neris, just a 5 minutes walk to the old town. This historical heart of Vilnius can be seen from your room window! The Holiday Inn Vilnius hotel offers 134 thoughtfully appointed guest rooms. All rooms have soundproof windows,complimentary wireless High Speed Internet Access and are equipped with satellite TV, and in-house movies. The hotel offers sauna facilities and free mini-gym for all in-house guests. With state-of-the-art conference facilities, natural daylight and air-conditioning, the multifunctional meeting rooms hosting up to 350 persons , provide an ideal venue for any conference or private event. RIB ROOM restaurant - ideal place for good food lovers! We would like to invite to the restaurant to try the best ribs in town and to our bar, which always has a selection of more than 100 whiskies on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vilnius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vilnius Hotel Vilnius
Vilnius Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing