We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and a very nice service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Druskos Namai - CLOSED

Druskos Namai
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Druskos Namai "Salt House" was established in 2012. Our main focus is on food quality; sourcing as much as possible while in season from local farmers and suppliers. Our menu can change on a daily basis depending on what is at the peak of freshness and availability.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and a very nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I tried squid with chorizo, duck breast and chocolate cake - all was delicious! Food, wine, liquor and coffe cost us about 200 LTL (about 60 euros for 2 persons). The staff was very freindly and proffesional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Madzia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    43
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mrs Sowie and I have just returned from a nice lunch here. The restaurant was very quiet with only one other table occupied by 2 French couples.

The waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Mrs S chose cream of celeriac soup which was thick and very moreish while i opted for the veal and sweetbread terrine. This was excellent and very tasty, served with dill pickles and toast.

For mains, my wife went for the steak, requesting it medium rare. In truth this was perhaps a little to rare for her taste, but it was very tender and well seasoned. It came served with thick hand cut chips and a wholegrain mustard. I chose the duck confit cassoulet, which was nice but unexceptional.

In addition to the above we had a glass of house white and a half litre of dark beer plus two coffees. Total cost was aprox £35, so good value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a cozy restaurant, which is well worth a visit, but return regularly - no”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The cozy and tastefully furnished restaurant in Užupis. A big plus is really nice and helpful (but unobtrusive) waitress with expertise in not only her, but the chef's work. The waitress gladly explain from what and how the dish is made, help choose the matching wine to a dish which, on request, you can taste it. Well, the menu is short and precise, so you choose what you eat a lot easier. Restaurant offers a taste of unusual and innovative dishes. So I would suggest to visit it at least once and taste, for example, lombatelo steak with potato chips and mustard (soft and juicy meat melting in your mouth), veal liver with mushrooms and mash potato (just a great combination of flavors), duck breast with sautéed potato and prunes with red wine jus and other. But no matter how I would have loved to try one or the other dish, I'm not sure that there is at least one dish that would make me go back to the "Salt of the house" so that I taste it again. Ironically, all the dishes we tasted were too salty. Regarding the environment, I would mention the fact that the tables are too close together, resulting in a very well heard others conversations. Persons wishing to privacy, they will find it hard here. So, "Salt of the house" is a great, cozy place,is definitely worth a visit, but if I go back there again and again? Unfortunately, probably not.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant with excellent food and nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Very nice restaurant with excellent food, attentive service and lovely wood panelling. Definitely recommend the cheese board with delicious Lithuanian cheeses but everything on the menu is excellent.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Explorer250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interest and good - limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although I truly enjoyed the meal, it comes with a warning. The menu os limted in both selection and scope. For example, the appetizers include two liver dishes of the six on the menu.

I started with a grilled lamb liver app although I actually ordered the chicken liver but they were out of stock. The dish was very good - and something I probably wouln't choose but was feel adventurous.The hanger steak was very well prepared and interesting with atypical fries (large rectangular cubes). The steak itself was sliced as a flank steak and prepared rare.

The restaurant is in an interesting section of town and is fairly new. There were no Lithuanians in the restaurant - French, British and American.

In summary - choose this one if you study the menu first and see a few things that are acceptable. It is far from the traditional Central/Eastern European restairant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JSCKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druskos Namai also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing