We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Innovative approach to locally-sourced food”
Review of Druskos Namai - CLOSED

Druskos Namai
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Druskos Namai "Salt House" was established in 2012. Our main focus is on food quality; sourcing as much as possible while in season from local farmers and suppliers. Our menu can change on a daily basis depending on what is at the peak of freshness and availability.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Innovative approach to locally-sourced food”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic and unexpected find out of the way that was a great surprise in Vilnius.

The food was innovative, blending local ingredients in unexpected ways for an off-the-beaten path approach to what you think you know. Standouts included a duck prosciutto salad that is unexpected for the locale, and a series of locally sourced cheeses that would be at home with a French farmer'a table. Amazing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    43
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Uzupis”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great tasting experience near Vilnius old town in "Uzupis". Cozy place with amazing service. Unusual and very good food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing gourme restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice cosy restaurant in bohemian Uzupis district. Food was perfect (menu vey small, they changing it according to the season) can recommend soups, fish (pike pearch ), thymus gland of the veal, but especially the desert panacota - it's so delishes, made with fresh wild thyme, unexpected, but I promisse - you will not forget it!
The service was simply perfect - two waiters spoke perfect english and can advice you everything about the meals, wines (his recommendation for us was the best possible!), cooking philospohy or simply history of the district or the house. Strongly recomend for gourmet food lovers!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darius68_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deeeelish”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Utterly delicious meal at Druskos Namai and really beautiful tasteful decor in the restaurant. The owner is a real foodie, incredibly passionate about delivering really great local food and he achieves it. I had the bone marrow with cucumber and black salt and it was divine. Presentation is top notch without being pretentious and the menu is very good value for money. I'm looking forward to going back when I next visit Vilnius, it was definitely the best restaurant meal I've had in Vilnius. Thank you

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Explauragibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant - Cutting edge Menu”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great restaurant that had only 5 other diners when we visited (Sunday Night in October 2012) The menu is very interesting and ordered Bone Marrow on Toast for starters with Veal Liver as well as Steak for Main. My partner normally doesnt like steak that is 'blue' but the steak dish they served that my partner requested was cooked longer than normal was totally delicious, My Veal Liver was a great suprise being very lovely. Panna Cotta for desert finished a great meal - Recommended

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Druskos Namai also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing