We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BUNTE GANS

BUNTE GANS
Ranked #7 of 757 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our family owned German restaurant Bunte Gans is situated in the heart of Vilnius Old Town. We kindly invite you to try various German and international A la Carte dishes prepared with special care and attention. We are glad our effort is appreciated by local guests as well as visitors from all over the world, who express their good impressions of our service and food. As soon as you step into the place, we promise to do our best to make your visit warm and pleasant.
Vilnius, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great mussels and very nice waiter with polite jokes but much of attention. We were sitting outside, had mussels and drinking vine. Had nice evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Asstta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    128
    28
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great German food in Vilnius, but surprisingly lousy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

They serve quite a variety of delicious German food. We had an apple strudel and hot chocolate for desert and pepper beefsteak with Vienna schnitzel as main course. Hot chocolate and Vienna schnitzel were great, I would say 10 out of 10. Apple strudel was served with semi cold cream/source and also it seemed to be 2-3 days old (biscuit was very hard to chew… was very dry) so max 5 out of 10. Pepper and their home made chili source were incredibly tasty, so was the steak. However waiter did not really asked what kind of steak I like – medium, well done or rare. So despite my favorite is between medium and rare and had to eat well done. And in general the service was well below expected standards – waiter/bartender was really enjoying himself being so smart and familiar that it was quite awkward. No German music during whole evening...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lukas_Mazeikiai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meat Lovers' Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions during spring 2014 both with business associates and personal friends. First, please note that despite the title of the review the restaurant has nice choice of vegetarian meals, and my veg friends (2 of them) have praised those on different occasions. Secondly, if you are a meat eater, beeter yet, if you love tartars, carpaccios and similar stuff - this is the place for you. The beef tartar with raw quail eggs and the German raw sausage were the best raw meat meals I have ever had, and believe me, I've tried such delicacies in several European countries. Practical tips: meals are big, so don't order too much, on the other hand - it's a perfect place for slow dinner, with attentive staff and cozy atmosphere. Choice of beers is not big, but all categories are in, beers are German and quality is perfect. One of the very few spots in Lithuania where the tip under your request may be included in the bill and paid by credit card. Very convenient for business lunches/dinners. Place is not too big, so reserve a table at least few hours before your meeting. Bon appetite ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DovileSakaliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“German satisfaction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you want excellent quality german dishes - visit this place. Both schnitzels: jeger and chicken were superb. Portions are generous, beer is very good and prices are reasonable. very good atmosphere inside, real german stylish place.
Only music can improve, some german village songs would boost up the experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brazdzionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The restaurant is well located in the old town. That’s about it really. The food is mediocre; don’t expect anything out of the ordinary. The service is also average. We were in the party of about 10 people and the waiter was rushing us to make our orders and was a bit too cheeky and arrogant for my taste. When the food arrived it was plain and nothing worth returning for.There are much better places to eat in Vilnius.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Violeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BUNTE GANS also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to BUNTE GANS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing