We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great night”
Review of Zemaiciai - CLOSED

Zemaiciai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Had a great night”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a private room in the cellar and decided to go for the sharing food. We had the pitchfork of meat and the fish plate with a plate of differently prepared potatoes. W couldn't fault it and the bonus was that it was so reasonable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful

Helpful?
Thank SusiBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Diarrhea”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been to this restaurant few times before, but visit few weeks ago was very disappointing. We were six people having dinner, and three of us ended up having very bad food poisoning. One of my friends is still recovering.
Please be warned against this place and choose something else. There are plenty of other restaurants in Vilnius which serve nice Lithuanian food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

You enter this place and then realise that the actual restaurant is subterranean. Going down a set of stairs it was a surprise to find just how big this restaurant is, there are several rooms as well as some nooks and crannies all underground. The cellar location added to the atmosphere of the place but it was not claustrophobic. It was busy and I think we were lucky to get a table, I would suggest booking.

This is a typical Lithuanian restaurant serving a range of national favourites. I began with the pickled herring, it was beautifully presented, garnished with dill, fresh and tasty. My wife had the beetroot based soup which was excellent.

For a main course my wife had the pork, and I had boar stew, both dishes were cooked to perfection, and accompanied with a range of fresh vegetables

For dessert I had the range of ice creams and my wife had the chocolate cake, which I am informed was 'to die for!'

The service was efficient and the food represented good value for money. A meal for four people, three courses with several beers cost about £55 in total. I would recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Englishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WORST MEAL IN A LONG TIME”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Other than the atmosphere and the beer,everything was bad..First a smelly waiter, then the chicken liver in the salad and the chanterelles
mushrooms were chewy,,,the flounder was dry and overcooked...the potatoes were overboiled,,,the zeppelin was gooee...the meat was
inside was ok..we barely touched our meal...sorry

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twovals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Went twice!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Originally went here for our first dinner in Vilnius because of the recomendation of our very helpful porter at Mabre. Easy to find, great atmosphere in the cellar, very good food, great service and an excellent value. Actually returned for our last dinner in Vilnius. Try the duck, it was outstanding! Would definately return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chargers22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zemaiciai also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing