We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food in an ally” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Lokys

Restaurant Lokys
Ranked #16 of 742 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Latvian, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Narrow Stikliu street in the old town of Vilnius began it‘s history in XVth century, when merchants and craftsmen, invited by Lithuanian Grand Dukes, here started their businesses - shops, workshops and taverns.The building, where currently restaurant “Lokys” is situated, was build in the end of XVth century for one of the merchants both for living and trading purposes.Over centuries, gothic cellars changed their owners for couple of times. Here have been shops, taverns and beerhouses, until 1972, when it was restored and hunters’ restaurant “Lokys” housed here.
Farmers Branch, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an ally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Apparently their are better portions of seating in the restaurant. I had excellent meat plate sampler and the venison medallions (recommend by the server over the wild boar). Typically wild meat tends to seem very rich to me, but this was not the case here and the accompanied vegetables were not left on the plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    467
    139
    29
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great wild game!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great atmosphere, excellent food and wine! Very good service. Venison was outstanding as was the mushroom soup.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice place, pretty good food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a nice meal here - eating the Lithuanian cheeses, the cold beet soup, the herring and for mains the beaver stew and venison! All meals tasted pretty good and we enjoyed the beers and wine we had with it! Service was friendly, it was nice to be able to sit outside and overall, good value for money!

Yes, the place is a little bit touristy but there were plenty of Lithuanians there as well.

If you like game, then this is a good place to visit as there are plenty of options on the menu. If not, there are plenty of other meat and fish options, as well as a few vegetarian options to make this place worth your visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine place and interesting cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Located in the Old Town, quick and friendly service, reasonable prices. Food is tasteful, would recommend to try dishes from "Hunting Takes" menu.
The only minus is that the cellar - most interesting part of the restaurant - closed until evenings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aivar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice dungeon experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

When visiting Vilnius last summer, I wanted to try some restaurants with atmosphere, this being one of them.
The cellar area is really nice, and you get the feeling that you are in a medieval castle dungeon or something like that.

I had a salmon carpaccio which was ok, but I had expected the salmon to be smoked, but it wasn't - and to their credit, it didn't say so on the menu either.
I decided to throw in another dish after ordering the first time, as an english woman nearby had the 'hunter's soup' and seemed to have a near-orgasmic experience (pardon the wording), so I wanted to try it too. It was very good, but it didn't blow my socks off :)
My main course was a chicken breast with a pretty uninteresting sauce - this one was a bit of a disappointment for me.

I would still rate this place well, as I have probably been a bit unlucky with my choices compared to my preferred tastes

Service was very friendly, although it was fairly slow - I waited a pretty long time between my dishes.
Prices aren't particularly low, but I would say you have to pay a bit for the atmosphere too, which is very good.
I would probably visit this restaurant again if I return to Vilnius, but I would look elsewhere on the menu, perhaps on the game meat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tertitt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lokys also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Restaurant Lokys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing