We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Lokys”
Review of Restaurant Lokys

Restaurant Lokys
Ranked #15 of 778 Restaurants in Vilnius
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Narrow Stikliu street in the old town of Vilnius began it‘s history in XVth century, when merchants and craftsmen, invited by Lithuanian Grand Dukes, here started their businesses - shops, workshops and taverns.The building, where currently restaurant “Lokys” is situated, was build in the end of XVth century for one of the merchants both for living and trading purposes.Over centuries, gothic cellars changed their owners for couple of times. Here have been shops, taverns and beerhouses, until 1972, when it was restored and hunters’ restaurant “Lokys” housed here.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at Lokys”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had to wait for 1.5 hours for the main dish, which then clearly disappointed some of us. The place was small and the dishes were not excellent.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    495
    147
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant - make sure you are hungry!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Read about this in "Vilnius in your Pocket" travel guide, and had to visit. The restaurant is housed in the gothic cellars of an old town building dating back to the late 15th century.
They serve "Hunters" menus including Quail, Venison, beef, lamb, pork etc in large portions with tons of veg and potatoes. Try their in house beer which is very good.
Gorgeous chocolate cake rounded off a great meal, and excellent value.
Look for the big wooden bear (Lokys) outside the restaurant, and enjoy your meal!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishwillowDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Vilnius”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The best meal we had in Vilinius was at Lokys. We tried the wild boar and quail and it quickly became obvious that the food served here is a cut above the average place serving "traditional Lithuanian food". Both meals were cooked perfectly and presented beautifully. It was clear that a lot more care is taken here with the presentation of the food on the plate.

The menu contains a number of interesting game items. I was disappointed that it was our last night in Vilnius and couldn't try a few more. There is also a very interesting list of soups. We tried the cold beetroot and (oddly named) hodgepodge soup - both very nice and recommended.

It is a little more expensive than other Vilnius options serving traditional food but well worth every penny. A must try.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CBK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Pleasant and tasty Lithuanian food experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a great dinner experience here on a Sunday night. We had the deer snack (essential ground deer in a cheesy sauce-- good with the bread served, though be prepared for a strong game taste), beaver stew (just as good as the other reviewer says- I can't quite describe the taste, but it's definitely good), and wild boar (I'm not a huge fan of pork, but this was very good-- not too dry, very flavorful, served with pears and battered potatoes, yum). We also shared the flaky cake dessert (totally big enough for two). The hot wine was quite nice on a cold evening. Total for appetizer, 2 entrees, 4 glasses of wine, sparkling water, and a dessert was about $60. Service is also quite good (very responsive staff, nice place settings, cute and cozy building, overall classier than the other highly rated Lithuanian food place Zemaiciai that we also tried). If you have to pick one place for authentic food, I'd go with Lokys.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank misswhitneypaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I tried beaver stew!!!! I still can't believe it! I saw it listed in the menu and thought that it was a joke but the waitress guaranteed me that is true! So I went for it.... at first I was very sceptical about it but as soon as i tasted the first bite i loved it!!! that was a curious and nice experience!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lokys also viewed

Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 
Vilnius, Vilnius County
Vilnius, Vilnius County
 

Been to Restaurant Lokys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing